We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Stork Hotel

Stork Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Arrived without a booking, very late and very tired! Received a warm welcome from the owners. Quality of room, food and service was excellent. In addition, there was secure storage for our bicycles. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to have a quiet evening meal - the dining room is small and almost like sitting in a lounge at home but this adds to the comforting feel of the place - the menu is the same and hasn't changed for some time but what is served is excellent - not noticed any specials offered bit as I say what you order of the menu you can guarantee is good - never had a bad meal here yet!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MYLERWorkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on 2nd night of our C2C walk. The room was clean and tidy, the bathroom although small was well equipped and modern. The evening meal was excellent and well priced. The breakfast was also really good. The owners are really friendly and helpful. Paul's tip for finding Loft Back just after Black Sail youth hostel was spot on. He will also pick you up and drop you off at Enerderdale Bridge on the C2C route - highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

My wife and I spent a rainy few days here. We were made to feel very welcome by Joan and Paul, who were outstanding hosts who made sure we had everything we needed.

The home cooked food was excellent (they actually cook the Steak how you ask for it, which is a rarity in my experience) with more than generous portions.

The bed was enormous and very, very comfortable. The room was clean and well provisioned, and the shower was one of the best I've ever used, so much so that I ended up showering twice a day just to use it.

Our room was directly over the bar and you could just about make out traces of the voices and laughter from downstairs until they cleared out at around 23:00, but you certainly wouldn't describe it as noisy.

We were sad to go at the end of our stay and we'll be sure to drop by for a pint next time we're passing!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Joan and Paul made us very welcome. Homemade and cooked food. The most enormous steak I've ever seen! The Whitby fish was very good. The boys loved the steak pie. I felt a bit cold so a cosy bedspread was provided. We shared the bar with locals who enjoyed having southerners staying. The location was great and one of the party did a long track run. Proper professional go kart track where Jenson Button goes.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Hotel

Address: Rowrah Road | Rowrah, Frizington CA26 3XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Frizington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stork Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful view of the surrounding fells, we are situated on the edge of the village at the doorstep of the Rowrah international carting stadium and the Coast to Coast cycle way. Two miles from Ennerdale village first stop for coast to coast walkers to whom we provide a free pickup and drop-off service to anyone staying with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing