We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
562
29
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
562
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels turret room homemade shortbread lake district extensive grounds country house hotel this wonderful hotel course dinner dog friendly hotel afternoon tea home made nothing is too much trouble large bathroom little extras fresh milk wine list comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We have now returned to this wonderful hotel about a dozen times over a number of years. It is spotlessly clean, has the most fabulous food, and is situated in a beautiful location. The owners are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Our dogs are also included in the warm welcome. Perfect for family and friend reunions, or just a special few days away.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We booked a one night stay for ourselves and my Mother who is 90 as a surprise for her birthday. We could not have picked a better Hotel.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the food was exceptional and the location was quiet and scenic.
We would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephenkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to see you again before too long...Can I please suggest that you book with us directly for the best value next time?!
With best wishes,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We chose to book this lovely old house for afternoon tea and were not disappointed.
To sit in a lovely armchair in a delightful room and have a wonderful view stretching out to a distant waterfall at the back of Skiddaw was an absolute pleasure.
The delicious afternoon tea which included home made jam and biscuits among it's delights was a decadent experience to be relished.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This is an outstanding Country House Hotel in an enviable location surrounded by woods and hills not far from Keswick. Our room, the only one on the ground floor was spacious, beautifully furnished and included an enormous en-suite bathroom with traditional bath and a separate shower. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food was exceptional. Best of all the hotel was very dog friendly and like James Bond, "we will be back".

Room tip: The ground floor room has direct access to the garden
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I came on to place a review as a first time guest but hubby beat me to it in previous review. He's said it all and it was perfect - just too short a stay. Fabulous hotel with lovely staff and best hotel food I've ever had. Will be back as soon as we can for a longer stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrschristinebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews