We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moresby Hall
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
173
24
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
24
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjane and davidfour poster bedjacuzzi bathlake districtwonderful hostsbirthday treaton arrivalwell worth a visitbusiness tripcomfortable bedsfull englishher husbandlovely placebreakfast was excellentafternoon tealovely roomcoast to coast cycle ride
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We had (unfortunately) only one night stay. The food was superb, the welcome by the proprietress could not have been better. The hall is classic country house cosy with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 843hilaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Happy New Year, how lovely to get your positive review - I had the pleasure of welcoming you both and I'm delighted you were so pleased with your short break. We do get very favourable comments on our wonderful mattresses, handmade to order in the UK and they seem to be perfect for a good night's sleep. We look forward to welcoming whenever you feel like a change of scene. Regards - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

I stopped here on business on 12/11/15 on the strength of trip advisor reviews which I always use. I wasn't disappointed. I checked into my room and found it to be very clean spacious and comfy. The hotel were unable to provide me with dinner as they had a large party pre booked for dinner and I had only booked at short notice. The gentleman in the kitchen did offer me a meal to my room, which was v decent, but I took the oppo to go into town anyway. In the morn I had a lovely freshly cooked bfast and Jane also provided me with tea afterwards while I caught up with some work in the entrance hall before leaving to do my calls. Would def stay again. Kevin.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
Thank KevinMcLaughlin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad you were so comfortable having booked quite last minute and arriving in squally weather! You stay coincided with a large corporate dinner function so regrettably our dining room was fully booked but we can usually offer dinner by prior arrangement. We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the area, please check our website for any special offers / discounts which are often available for last minute direct bookings. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Stayed at the hotel recently when in Cumbria for a work function. The Hotel is comfortable and the service from the owners was superb. This big old building is very impressive and the room we had was large and well fitted out.

Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. I would recommend this venue to others for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Your positive review is much appreciated - I know you were here for a function locally and the Abigail Storm didn't dampen your enthusiasm too much. We hope to see you on a future occasion if you are in the area again one day. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Jane and David are very welcoming ,cook a lovely meal Jane is a very good cook David come and had a good conversation with us i have not had that from a hotel owner before i have stayed in a few hotels,nothing was to much trouble we felt very well looked after, the hall is lovely, we are going to return in the spring the time we spent there was not long enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nb68l1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

We are delighted to see your kind review as we like to greet our guests personally whenever possible and try to help with any information to make their stay really interesting. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I stayed here whilst on business and have to say that it is one of the nicest places I've stayed at (both business and personal)
The rooms are exceptionally clean and the owners have taken great care to modernise the place without taking away from the character of the building.
Hosting skills were fabulous and I felt very welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble.
Food was fabulous and i'm already looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshleyLewer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

We have many guests during the week travelling on business so its wonderful to know you felt so comfortable and especially your comments about your travels for BOTH business and leisure. We really appreciate your kind feedback, which means a great deal to all of us. Yes, we are a country guesthouse rather than a large hotel but we like to think we can provide many small touches for our guests comfort which we would appreciate ourselves when away from home. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews