We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place unless you are desperate.”

Fairladies Barn Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairladies Barn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here on August 21 and 22, 2016. The place is terrible and the owner/staff matches. Our room was dirty, there was mold in the shower, the sink's hot water faucet did not work and the plastic hand soap dispenser was empty. Oh, and there were plenty of spiders in the room. The breakfast itself was okay, but the dining room was dark - hardly any lights turned on and the paintings on the wall were all dark black in color and scenery, making for a dreary, depressing dining experience. The salt and pepper shakers were all solidified, I checked the other tables to try find one that wasn't and they all were the same. The outside area was filthy and uninviting despite the picnic table apparently available for our use. The final straw was the morning my wife and I were leaving to start the Coast to Cost walk across England and we asked the owner to take our photo to record our official start and she refused. The woman is as ill suited to operate a B&B as anyone I have every met. We will never return to this place and encourage others to avoid this place if at all possible. There is no common area room, but you could overlook that, if not for everything else being so bad. The only upside to this place is that it will make any other place you stay seem wonderful by comparison.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night to start our Coast-to-Coast trek. The room smelled musty. There were cobwebs on the ceiling. The hot water in the sink didn't work. It did work in the shower....what a relief that was. The furniture in the room needed to be dusted. The breakfast was nothing special. The sausages and eggs were tasteless. My wife saw a mouse crawling around the baseboard in the dining room. On the positive side, the owners are two nice people and the location is in the heart of St. Bees. Walk to all the good pubs for dinner and a pint.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed one night. Ground floor room a bit musty. I prefer b and b's to put protectors on mattresses/ pillows as it is more hygienic. Front rooms share a kitchenette but cups are chipped and appliances unclean. Breakfast good. Managers lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BCAles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Fab hosts. Willing to do anything. Accommodation clean and tidy with everything you required. Good breakfast to set of walkers on their big adventure. A great place for walkers and to start exploring the Lake District. Forgot the excellent packed lunches enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This was our first accommodation for the C2C. Arrived on a cold and windy day with great expectations. Rooms were not ready when we arrived which was understandable as we had arrived early but we were allowed to store our luggage and then went to the local pub for a warming drink.
Once back we were shown to our various rooms. Consensus of the group of eight was the place is starting to be a bit tired. My room the mattress is in need of replacement with little support and lumpy.
Breakfast was typical self serve cereals etc and then hot breakfast. Although well laid out and very good service the table and eating areas really could do with a good clean with the table sticky and a bit greasy.
Otherwise host was most helpful in providing lunches for the walk and information about St Bees and its facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK but need a bit of love and attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pgrwrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Bees hotels
0 km away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.9 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
454 reviews
0.1 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
50 reviews
0 km away
Stonehouse Farm
Stonehouse Farm
#1 of 9 in St Bees
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairladies Barn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairladies Barn Guest House

Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing