We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(St Bees)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grove Court Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
13
10
15
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
10
15
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our towels and bedsheets were damp from having been laundered. The room didn't feel clean. It was dark and uninviting. We had trouble finding anyone when we needed service. Breakfast was slow to be served.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sking32951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Had the room opposite their own area. Room was comfortable enough. No toiletries except soap, so had to go buy shampoo/conditioner. This was the start of our C2C. Packed lunch was excellent. The Barn is in a great location. Also had tea/coffee facilities with biscuits as well.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kezzaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here on August 21 and 22, 2016. The place is terrible and the owner/staff matches. Our room was dirty, there was mold in the shower, the sink's hot water faucet did not work and the plastic hand soap dispenser was empty. Oh, and there were plenty of spiders in the room. The breakfast itself was okay, but the dining room was dark - hardly any lights turned on and the paintings on the wall were all dark black in color and scenery, making for a dreary, depressing dining experience. The salt and pepper shakers were all solidified, I checked the other tables to try find one that wasn't and they all were the same. The outside area was filthy and uninviting despite the picnic table apparently available for our use. The final straw was the morning my wife and I were leaving to start the Coast to Cost walk across England and we asked the owner to take our photo to record our official start and she refused. The woman is as ill suited to operate a B&B as anyone I have every met. We will never return to this place and encourage others to avoid this place if at all possible. There is no common area room, but you could overlook that, if not for everything else being so bad. The only upside to this place is that it will make any other place you stay seem wonderful by comparison.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night to start our Coast-to-Coast trek. The room smelled musty. There were cobwebs on the ceiling. The hot water in the sink didn't work. It did work in the shower....what a relief that was. The furniture in the room needed to be dusted. The breakfast was nothing special. The sausages and eggs were tasteless. My wife saw a mouse crawling around the baseboard in the dining room. On the positive side, the owners are two nice people and the location is in the heart of St. Bees. Walk to all the good pubs for dinner and a pint.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed one night. Ground floor room a bit musty. I prefer b and b's to put protectors on mattresses/ pillows as it is more hygienic. Front rooms share a kitchenette but cups are chipped and appliances unclean. Breakfast good. Managers lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BCAles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews