We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”

Fairladies Barn Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairladies Barn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The woman who runs this place is lovely - no doubt about that. But the rooms are shabby and dim, the beds (at least the beds in our room) are old, uncomfortable and of dubious cleanliness and the place is a mess. Glasses in the rooms have lip and finger prints from previous occupants, there are no mattress protectors on the beds and it's all pretty grim.
Breakfast was pretty good and the packed lunch was fine (good value too). But St Bee's has a lot better places on offer.

Room Tip: Pray that there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our towels and bedsheets were damp from having been laundered. The room didn't feel clean. It was dark and uninviting. We had trouble finding anyone when we needed service. Breakfast was slow to be served.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sking32951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Had the room opposite their own area. Room was comfortable enough. No toiletries except soap, so had to go buy shampoo/conditioner. This was the start of our C2C. Packed lunch was excellent. The Barn is in a great location. Also had tea/coffee facilities with biscuits as well.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kezzaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here on August 21 and 22, 2016. The place is terrible and the owner/staff matches. Our room was dirty, there was mold in the shower, the sink's hot water faucet did not work and the plastic hand soap dispenser was empty. Oh, and there were plenty of spiders in the room. The breakfast itself was okay, but the dining room was dark - hardly any lights turned on and the paintings on the wall were all dark black in color and scenery, making for a dreary, depressing dining experience. The salt and pepper shakers were all solidified, I checked the other tables to try find one that wasn't and they all were the same. The outside area was filthy and uninviting despite the picnic table apparently available for our use. The final straw was the morning my wife and I were leaving to start the Coast to Cost walk across England and we asked the owner to take our photo to record our official start and she refused. The woman is as ill suited to operate a B&B as anyone I have every met. We will never return to this place and encourage others to avoid this place if at all possible. There is no common area room, but you could overlook that, if not for everything else being so bad. The only upside to this place is that it will make any other place you stay seem wonderful by comparison.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night to start our Coast-to-Coast trek. The room smelled musty. There were cobwebs on the ceiling. The hot water in the sink didn't work. It did work in the shower....what a relief that was. The furniture in the room needed to be dusted. The breakfast was nothing special. The sausages and eggs were tasteless. My wife saw a mouse crawling around the baseboard in the dining room. On the positive side, the owners are two nice people and the location is in the heart of St. Bees. Walk to all the good pubs for dinner and a pint.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Bees hotels
0.1 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
171 reviews
0 km away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.9 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
50 reviews
0 km away
Stonehouse Farm
Stonehouse Farm
#1 of 9 in St Bees
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairladies Barn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairladies Barn Guest House

Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing