We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$88
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donington Manor Hotel(Castle Donington)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant House(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
362
257
132
60
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
257
132
60
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmain buildingcottage roomhand picked hotelsthe fine dining restaurantbanks of the riverafternoon teasecret escapesscallopswedding venuetravelzoo dealwine listwedding guestswedding breakfastrelaxing breaksconestwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Spent a couple of days here recently & was pleasantly surprised.
Room was large with a comfortable bed, bath / shower facilities were great.
Food was excellent (had the Tomato Soup & Fillet Steak!!).
Service was friendly & professional.
All in all, a great stay :)

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a cottage room which was nice - large bed, hot drinks, water, tv, iron and molton brown bath products. It was cold in our room but the heating was on, due to old style windows I imagine this is why.

We booked a table in the bar at 730 we had a starter at 8 and mains took a further 45 mins to arrive. It was almost 9pm when we ate which was disappointing. The food was delicious but the service lacking. We were offered a drink to resolve this - thinking this would be complimentary and then we were charged!

Breakfast service ok, food again great quality but if I were visiting again i would go else where to eat.


Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wrighty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. We take all comments on board and appreciate all feedback. We can assure you your comments here have been escalated to the relevant departments and actions put into place.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

When you only manage to have the chance for an adult only, rare night away from the children, choosing the right hotel is important to maximise those precious 24 hours. The only words to sum up the stay last Monday 12th February, are 'utter disappointment'. Staying in the Stocker Suite, at a pricely sum of £200 for the night, we didnt expect no heating. It's been a rather cold winter, so not much fun in the top room of the tower with wind whistling through the antique windows with two large antiquated wall heaters, no instructions and no heat. The slight give away that management knew about the problem was the electric fan heater tucked away by the dressing table. When we did complain to the poor young receptionist, she offered a blanket but that was the only thing she managed to offer. Other failings included the closure of the restaurant when a table had been booked and we ended up eating off the bar menu, completely overdressed for the evening. Other niggling issues with the room, no complimentary slippers as stated on the website, only one packet of biscuits when there are two adults sharing and one trouser coat hanger in the wardrobe. We were informed that breakfast was included, often hotels offer room only, so this was a surprise only to find service had finished at 9.30am. However the young waiter did chase after us to confirm the chef would serve us. On check out the receptionist did assure us that the Operations Manager would phone on Tuesday 13th to speak to us about our complaint. Because he failed to call, an email was sent on Wednesday 14th, but to date, he has not had the courtesy to reply. This speaks volumes, take the customers money and run, don't bother to address the issues raised. So our advise to anyone thinking of booking would be to seek alternative accommodation where they can be bothered to offer a comfortable and worthwhile experience. It will probably be another 4 years before we manage to get away again, but this has left a bitter sweet taste in the mouth.

Room Tip: One with heating
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. We take all comments on board and appreciate all feedback. We can assure you your comments here have been escalated to the relevant departments and actions put into place.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Priest House to celebrate our dear friends 50th birthday, we wanted somewhere which was remote, well established and appealing, we certainly found all of these at the Priest House. The property is one of the cleanest we have stayed at, all the staff were professional and attentive, the food was great value for money and our room was spacious and spotless.

Our guest had a milk intolerant, I emailed the hotel in advance and each day soya milk was automatically placed in their room, nothing was too much trouble.

There was nothing to not like about the Priest House, the only thing they could improve on is to have the heating on in the lounge and dining rooms. We found it was cold to the point my wife and guest had to have throws (which were provided) on their laps.

We would not hesitate to return to this hotel

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for the great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your escape from the hustle and bustle of the modern hectic life, I will look into the cold public areas as there should have been no reason why we could not have made things more comfortable without you having to resort to using the throws inside the Hotel
We look forward to your return
NJB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We have just arrived home after two nights at this hotel. What should have been a great experience was rather disappointing. The room in the cottage area was shabby although the bathroom was very clean, but to have no wifi in the room meant we could not look up things to do in the area and there was no obvious leaflets anywhere apart from a few sheets in the folder in the room. This is not acceptable in this day and age. Combined with the fact that the staff were not very friendly and frankly did not really seem to care or intact have any interest in helping was astonishing. The breakfast was an interesting experience, especially today. It ranged from no one greeting us, to our full coffee cups and plates etc being cleared away when we were only up getting our food from the buffet, to no one offering toast or drinks when we first arrived to brushing crumbs onto the floor which was unbelievable. There also seemed to be real tension between staff, which although funny at the time, seemed rather strange for a hotel of this caliber. Would I recommend it? Not sure. The hotel is in a superb spot but the staff really need training on how to make the guests feel special. The most helpful staff were housekeeping who went out of their way to tell us how to get to Nottingham as the front of desk did not have a clue!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sscr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. We take all comments on board and appreciate all feedback. We can assure you your comments here have been escalated to the relevant departments and actions put into place.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews