We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
US$258
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$93
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
US$189
US$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
59
60
21
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
60
21
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpeak districtold buildingtai chifunction roomfood was served quicklymixed grillstayed for one nightevening mealnew ownersheated towel railspent nightslovely villagenight staylinen and towelsgreat value for moneygreat shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arranged a 80th birthday family meal with Wendy, and it was great.
Wendy organsied balloons for the table which was a nice touch.
Food excellent, hugh potions, and great value for money
Stayed for the weekend in the village and hope to return
Many thanks to the team at the George

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Older222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bless , Thank you for taking the time to comment such nice words.

It is the little touches which makes all the difference and we are so pleased that your family enjoyed their time here.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Best regards

Wendy and the team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Wendy and family made our stay most enjoyable. The room was very comfortable, and the food was good. You felt like you had known them for ages. They have only been running The George for 14 months Wendy said, but they are doing a very good job of it. I would happily stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 4 has 3 single beds, and looks onto the stained glass window of the Cathedral. It was bright and spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comment.

We would love for you to come and stay again.

Regards

Wendy & the team XX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a room for three. The room was large with comfy beds and a very generous tea tray with a full size kettle and mineral water and lovely furniture. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the bar(and the prices!). It is a village pub and it makes it very clear when booking that there will be music til 12.30 so this was not an issue for us and the local customers were a friendly bunch too. Breakfast was tasty and comes with black pudding which was great. It is a very relaxed and friendly place and I will definitely stay there again next time I’m in the area. Thank you!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank HShilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you so much for your comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards

wendy & the team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

I was part of a large hen party staying nearby and I arranged for the group (19 people) to have lunch here one saturday afternoon. I made arrangements with Wendy in advance for us and she kindly reserved us a section of the pub and decorated the area with balloons to make us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the team - staff were friendly and food was served quickly to a high standard - thank you to Wendy and the team!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments and we were only too happy to help make your day special.

We all wish you well and hope you have a great wedding. Give our regard to the bride to be.

Best regards

Wendy & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

They say impressions are formed within 7 seconds, very true here they were *****
Great welcome on a rainy day, treats brought to our table for the dog. Service with lots of smiles very friendly efficient team couldn’t do enough for us.
Lovely food so much so having had lunch it was the place to go for our evening meal.
Good customer service sadly is hard to find definitely not here on our visit it was in abundance, well done everyone.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comment x
its always a pleasure to meet people and their 4 legged family members xx

Look forward to seeing you again next time your in the area.
Take care x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews