We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay , great value and great staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
crlawrence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great stay , great value and great staff!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

we stayed for 3 nights in room 3 (of which had been recently redecorated) facing out over the square so of course theres plenty to see especially at chuck out time.the room was very spacious with a nice high ceiling and very comfortable.
the food from breakfast through to lunch and then evening meal was first class plenty of choice and great value for money.
the staff every one of them first class,nothing is ever a problem and they will always bend over backwards to help,they are so polite and friendly,a real credit to jo the manager.
well done all at the golden fleece,and thank you very much!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    245
    63
    17
    19
See reviews for
135
456
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Having just completed a three week stay at the Golden Fleece, I feel I must comment on the all round quality regarding accommodation, quality of food, location and cleanliness. Throughout my stay I found all members of staff to be very friendly and professional in all matters.
As mentioned the all round quality of this hotel made my stay a very enjoyable experience. The manageress worked extremely hard providing the quality of service from all members of staff in a professional but friendly manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.
Derek Parry.
Director
Construction Industry Training Services. South Wales

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dparrycitsltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Wonderful stay and very handy for the Dales and Herriot Musemn which is well worth a visit.

Food was exceptional here and all our meals were of the highest quality with local produce and the difference was clear, also the staff know there stuff so any questions are answered quickly and with clarity. Rooms were comfortable and well maintained which is a plus always.

Would suggest some visits of note and slightly different whislt here would be Shandy Hall at Coxwold and Kiplin Hall near Catterick, both very different but wonderful places to visit and see.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our second stay - pamper your partner night. Outstanding value. The two best things about this hotel are equally 1. The food, 2. The service. How lovely to stay somewhere where you feel special without feeling intimidated. Friendly and very professional staff who gladly share with you info about the hotel and the area. The quality of the food is fab. We will book again 100%sure of the service. Nice touches ie cottonbuds and cotton wool in the bathroom as well as the usual smellies. We are so happy with it we are thinking of booking similar packages for friends as gifts. The only thing that I would change about the whole hotel is the beer. A few more guest ales would be nice as the Golden Fleece ale is an acquired taste.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrilsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hotel on the suare in the market town of Thirsk, home of James Herriot, the famous vet, if quirky in a lovely sort of way. Run by excellent and friendly staff where nothibng is too much trouble. Do not expect five star luxury but the place is spotlessly clean and homely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
2.1 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
15.8 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
18.4 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
709 reviews
14.4 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
292 reviews
0.8 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Property: Golden Fleece Hotel
Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price range (per night): $128 - $217
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing