We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature take”
Review of Giddy Geisha

Giddy Geisha
Ranked #131 of 200 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with cousins - four of us. We went early as knew the dining concept of no bookings etc and self ordering. We had checked out the menu online, discussed that we wanted a table for 4 with the staff on arrival and 2 of us went to order food and drinks. All set. We were here to catch up, share a meal and experience a new restraurat. We were not disappointed. The menu is great, offering a fresh take on some century old recipes and exciting new ideas. The food is fresh - well presented - delicious. The beers on tap great. Great range of cocktails and wines. The staff are professional and very polite. The decor - alive with life, plants and lighting, natural with cement floors, wood tables and metal chair - all works well night and day.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank twyfordjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

There is no doubt about it, the food is lovely ... however the experience is annoying and quite frustrating. The line is very long to get in and very slow, quite often you need to share tables and the line for food is ridiculous! If you go as a couple, one person spends half an hour or so in the line waiting to order whilst the other person sits aimlessly at the table. There really should be two people taking food orders during busy periods. Also what is weird is that the line for food is in the main part of the restaurant. Compared to Rice Boi, Rice Boi is much quicker to get a table and much quicker to order food plus the set up works better.
Worth checking Giddy Geisha for the food, but if they made a few changes, the experience would be so much better.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank BeachGirl997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021 via mobile

Menu items and prices, with the distinct lack of a dollar symbol or decimal point (usually an indication of pretentiousness and overpriced food) led me to believe this was middle to upscale dining. So we queued up to get in - which didn't take too long. We were then was shown to a table with hard metal stools on a bare concrete floor. Great for getting people to get in and out as fast as possible.

Decided to get some drinks before working out what we were going to eat, so I got up and queued for about 10 minutes to get a couple of drinks. Then, whilst trying to work out over the loud music what my tablemates were ordering, I decided on the sashimi. So up again to queue up to order (and ordered another drink at the same time to save a third time in the queue). The sashimi arrived - or what I thought or was hoping was perhaps plate 1 of 2 ... but alas no it was a very small portion.

No issues about the freshness or quality of the food. It was good. Tasty. Fresh. Just not enough of it on the plate.

The food is great but the business model needs an overhaul if they want to ensure long term success.

I would not likely eat here again.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Dainus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

Not keen on queueing for a table then this isn’t the place for you. GG doesn’t take bookings. However, it does move pretty quickly.
The delicious Meals arrive very swiftly after ordering and the Roti,a big call, may be better than Sum Young Guys.
The flickering/strobe lights are nauseating and the music is loud. All of which gets you eating and out. Hence why the queue moves quickly.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Noons1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

Great new eatery! Bustling, lively, excellent menu and very reasonably priced. I have particularly challenging medical dietary requirements but waitress was so very helpful: checked with chef and I was able to get a delicious lunch to suit me.
Excellent wine list. fantastic service. Just could not fault this place - would happily recommend and return. Whilst building still going on in this newly developing area, parking at the moment is challenging at lunchtime but can always find somewhere nearby within walking distance.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marigoldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giddy Geisha also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Giddy Geisha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.