We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quesadilla ever!”

The Prickly Pinata - Fresh Mexican Cantina
Ranked #34 of 218 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Mexican, South American, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Prickly Pinata Fresh Mexican Cantina brings cheerful healthy, fresh and Mexican flavoured cuisine with a double dose of fun to Cotton Tree. The Prickly Pinata is open for lunch and dinner with an unbeatable view and transforms into a vibrant, busy evening restaurant. Vibrant pastel coloured walls painted with sugar skulls and an assortment of cactus-filled pot plants injects a relaxed Sunshine Coast beachside spin on traditional Mexican style, making it an ideal spot to chill out with a refreshing cocktail on the deck before settling in for a feast to share with friends. The Prickly Pinata's menu effortlessly combines traditional Mexican dishes with on-trend flavours, evident in crowd pleasers such as the tortilla crumbed zucchini chips with spiced beetroot and pepitas dip as well as the confit Bungalow pork taco with salsa verde, onion and coriander. The Prickly Pinata's menu has been designed to be shared, offering a variety of different sized & styled dishes. Our menu originates from Baja California which is a state of Mexico. Baja Mexican boasts the use of Fresh vegetables, fruits, meats and seafood. Prickly Pinata's menu is wide, offering choice to suit everyone's needs.
Reviewed 7 March 2017

A great feed at a reasonable price. A nice breezy location looking over the Maroochy River and friendly staff. Will definitely be back next time we are in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

After the extraordinary long wait to just order food for four people we were unsure whether the food was even going to arrive. Two meals came out first - the trio of tacos - and they were both incorrect (one was ordered without cheese and both were supposed to be on soft tacos) what arrived was two plates of crispy tacos both covered in cheese. These were taken away to be "fixed". The entree arrived then (corn) which was missing the chilli and aioli.Two meals (the nachos and enchiladas) arrived and were suprisingly great! The trios of disappointment arrived (tacos) with one of them still incorrect - two attempts in total and the meal was returned to the table stone cold and missing sauce. The chicken was obviously packet chicken which was advertised as crispy which was a giant lie. Overall I would say avoid this restaurant like the plague unless you like disappointment in threes.

Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pricklypinata, Manager at The Prickly Pinata - Fresh Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. To clear a few things up, I understand why you thought you were missing the aioli: Street Corn is grilled with aioli on it, so you cannot see it and the chilli is sprinkled on the corn, which can be difficult to see. Secondly, we do not serve "packet chicken"; our kitchen team works intensively with prep, and most of our meats take many hours to prepare. We also do not advertise our chicken as 'crispy' as our menu describes the chicken as 'marinated chicken'. The Prickly Pinata is a busy restaurant enabling us to be able to provide fresh food daily. Yes, we were at fault with the trio of tacos so I apologise for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Odd layout, a bit squeezy. Nice view and cool breeze
Food a bit pricey , for what it is.
The food is a bit bland for my taste, needed something, and definitely more of it.
Friendly staff , nice and clean.

Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Book in advance to get a front table and arrive at 5 to enjoy happy hour drinks. Get the kids a lemon lime and bitters to feel part of the atmosphere. Order small plates 2 at a time to keep the kids (and yourselves) happy. This way you can try a number of the delicious tastes available and keep the table humming with reordering the next course. Match you happy hour drinks to each round of food.

A great night out!!!!

Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Have been to Prickly a few times, always lovely food. Tonights food was very nice, however i had made a reservation for 6.45PM looking forward to dinner with my husband. we ordered 2 small plates and 2 medium plates. All plates came out at once ( this has never happened before ) so by the time we hurriedly got to our 2nd plates they were cold, sour cream melted :( We left the restaurant at 7.20 PM, we may as well have gone to a take away place .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prickly Pinata - Fresh Mexican Cantina also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Prickly Pinata - Fresh Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing