We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood, amazing calamari & prawns!!”
Review of Red Sea Restaurant

Red Sea Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 203 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 27 November 2021

We came here and ordered a seafood platter on the recommendation of our B&B hosts. It was extremely good value with a great selection of cold and hot seafood. We weren’t particularly impressed by the oysters – they natural oysters were a little small and the oysters Kilpatrick were smothered in a strange tasting sauce mixed with cheap commercial bacon cubes. The best things on the platter were the calamari and the prawns. Instead of ordering a platter we’d probably just order that next time. Our friend ordered the eye fillet medium rare – and it looked well done to me. Service was a little slow and slightly haphazard – we only received our meals one hour from the time that we arrived at the restaurant! But the staff were friendly and BYO is a plus!

Date of visit: November 2021
2  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2021 via mobile

Travellers from SA, stopped by for a seafood dinner. I felt like Lobster but was not on the menu. Great chef Neil said no problem and not only did we get an absolute amazing Lobster in a beautiful creamy sauce, he added a heap of fresh prawns which were so tasty. Totally enjoyed our experience and we will be back before we leave the Sunshine Coast.
I am a very hard critic when it comes to dining and food, but this place I couldn't fault...AMAZING

Date of visit: November 2021
1  Thank U2479CFcherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2021

We dined at Red Sea on a busy Friday night. The atmosphere was good and the singer was very entertaining. Prices are a little on the high side but we thought that the quality of the food justified it. We are fresh seafood snobs and our chosen dishes didn't disappoint. Service was friendly and efficient.

So why only 3 stars? At the time of our dinner the region was under a direction to wear masks indoors. Once seated masks could be removed. Two of the wait staff including the head waitress were not wearing masks but wore badges to say that they had exemptions. I trust them on this and don't question their honesty.

The issue was that unlike in other restaurants in the area that we had dined at recently there was no attempt made to ask patrons to wear masks and very few did. The restaurant was doing a very good trade in takeaway meals and we had an endless stream of customers filing past us without masks. It was unprofessional and a very bad look.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NauticalDreamer3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Unbelievable food, vibes and hospitality!! The oysters kilpatrick were to die for, the seafood was the best in town and the amazing staff and entertainment made an amazing night out even better!

Date of visit: November 2021
1  Thank thomaswM4299YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2021 via mobile

We went here for lunch a couple of times when on the Sunshine Coast. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to fit in with special dietary requirements for one of our group. The food was totally amazing, the servings are huge and so fresh. On one visit my husband had steak. He is very fussy about steak and said it was excellent. The seafood and salad were a delight. We will be going back next time we are on the Coast.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Savitar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Red Sea Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Red Sea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.