We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable price, bare bones accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds
Ranked #112 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I chose this hotel because of the location and price. And, I guess you get what you pay for. The facility is still being re-modeled. That wouldn't have been a problem except they did nothing to make up for the inconvenience. The staff, though efficient in checking us in, were not very friendly or welcoming. A recognition of what was going on and a comment about what amenities WERE available would have been nice. Our room was clean and comfortable, though the "extras" --soap, shampoo, lotion, etc-- that one typically gets in a motel were minimal. The ice machine was broken. The drain in the sink was stopped up and the shower switch in the bathtub had to be "babied" to make it move water to the shower. If you stay here and expect the extras like coffee in your room and breakfast, be aware that you have to pay extra.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, there was no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

staying here with 4 other co-workers close to downtown and plenty of restaurants nearby. good hotel for contractors and friendly staff workers.10 minutes from easton mall 5 minutes from downtown plenty of parking

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aaewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The place is clean and staff is warm. The internet connection is fast and stable. We stayed at this hotel before we moved our new apartment. The location is a little bit far from the downtown. The only cons is the sound of the fridge. They should buy new silent ones, we turned it off while sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Hi Bora,

We appreciate the positive feedback and happy to make your stay comfortable. Yes our management updated a brand new Guest Wifi system throughout the hotel. We have had some great feedback regarding it. We are approximately 15 minutes from downtown Columbus. Please stay with us on your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The first floor of this Red Roof is still being finished (and as mentioned in other reviews), so still no ice machine, but our room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The re-furbished room had a flatscreen TV and wood-looking floors in the main area, with carpeting by the beds. Everything looked, and smelled, fresh and clean. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was fine, still had older surround and fixtures, not tons of counter space, but reasonable for the price. At this point, you can only enter through the center of the building. There is a side door with a room key scanner, but it doesn't work and there is no handle yet.

We would stay again, asking for an odd numbered room, away from the highway. This RRI shares a parking lot with a Comfort Inn (may see their sign first) and is near gas, fast food, etc., and is right off the highway.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank winindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you for your comments. We are glad we made you stay enjoyable. We were currently under renovations, and did not have a working ice machine. We are sorry for the inconvenience that we may have caused. We hope serve you better during your next visit when everything will be completed.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The hotel room was clean, but they were in the middle of updating the hotel when we stayed there (Oct. 2015). The lobby had a strange smell to it, but you couldn't smell it in the room. The staff was friendly, and even though at night the area the hotel was in didn't look too friendly, the next morning it looked fine. All in all, an affordable clean hotel to stay the night at.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ladyd2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you for taking your time leave some feedback. We appreciate your recent stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed as well. Our management has completed the remodel to make your stay more comfortable. Please come us in mind during your next visit to Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
3.0 km away
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
#99 of 145 in Columbus
35 reviews
0.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - North
4.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#77 of 145 in Columbus
133 reviews
3.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus North I - 270
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#79 of 145 in Columbus
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds

Address: 1221 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-3301
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $94 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what exciting event or attraction brings you to Columbus, your room at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds will be your personal retreat. Free WiFi,in-room coffee makers, hairdryer, and microfridge are just some of the amenities offered for your enjoyment. We also offer free local and long distance calling within your guestroom. Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds offers easy access to interstates 71 and 270, and is conveniently located near OSU, The Ohio State Fairgrounds and great shopping at Easton Town Center and Polaris Mall. Other near attractions are the Columbus Crew Stadium, along with the Columbus Zoo. A credit card is required at the time of check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing