We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Family Run Hotel (50 Rooms)”
Review of Cretan Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cretan Garden
Ranked #16 of 32 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2015

If you want a quite, restful, well run hotel, this is perfect. It is situated about 10 minutes walk or less from the beach. There are two supermarkets and a lovely restaurant just a few minute's away.

It is family run between Connie, George and Mary who made so welcome that we felt like one of the family. Or the rest of the staff were very courteous and helpful, especially Tony the barman who made great cocktails and also managed the music dealing with requests. The receptionist would always call a taxi to take into town which cost 7 euro's each way and was there to assist and advise in any excursions you might require.

The food was well cooked and plentiful, all the vegetables were home grown by George.

There was a pool that was cleaned daily with plenty of sun lounges, also a pool table near by, a tennis court, mini golf and a small children's play area.

We stayed in a superior room which had a lovely walk in shower and was well furnished with a pool view.

It has to be one of the best holidays we have had in the last 30 years and we most certainly be returning in 2016

Room Tip: Superior room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonguestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2015

I travelled as a family with 2 children. I contacted the hotel prior to going to enquire about the way to get there from the airport. They kindly arranged a taxi pickup who was waiting promptly with my name on a board and we arrived in about 20mins. My room was fantastic, pretty new by the looks of it. Spacious, clean and overlooking the pool. I'm usually a restless sleeper but had a fantastic sleep as it is quiet at night and thankfully away from noise of loud music and scooters.

Breakfast is basic and the usual continental you expect. We're not big morning people anyway so the few days we did manage to wake up at a decent hour it was sufficient for us. During days around the pool we ordered snacks at the bar. The meals in the evening are freshly prepared and authentic greek. If you are going to stay more than a week then of course you should explore the area and its nice to try some restaurants. I highly recommend you try some cocktails at the bar. Tony makes the best mojitos around.

My kids were extremely happy at the hotel. They made friends with other kids and were kept busy playing in the pool, walk down to the beach, football, volleyball, tennis and were happy to sit and play cards and board games.

Respect works both ways. I've seen tourists that have very high expectations but are not willing to pay for it. This place is a gem (great value for money) and the team were always happy to help and advise my family. It is a small but really well run place. We have stayed in big hotels before but the kids put it nicely, 'there is no snobery here and you are made to feel comfortable'

ps) its good to have a car to get around and really explore but still easy enough without it and the taxis were only 7 euro into town.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrumMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My mother and her friend went on holidays here and they only speak Russian. The only one on the property who spoke Russian was Ira. A rude and hostile woman.
Not only they take money for air-conditiong from tourists (€ 47 per week) - absurd! But tried to blame some child's scribbling on a table in the room and asked for money while insulting.
Rooms were not cleaned properly and it was obvious that things were looked through, packets of new things opened.

All in all. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

the worst food i ever saw served in a hotel.very cheap ingredients not a variety of food all very bad cooked,breakfast too poor almost same every day.No activities very early the dinner and later nothing to do.Not recommended for kids and generally for holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nikos a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We stayed at this hotel June 2014, the hotel is small and is run by a family and the service feels personal, most of the staff are happy to help and willing to go that little extra. The hotel is clean and has everything you need, bar, pool etc, rooms do not come with Air-con as standard but can be included for a charge of 7 Euro a night ( well worth it) All inclusive food is served three times daily and all inclusive drinks are served from 10am till 12pm however paid drinks are available before and after this time. all inclusive drinks include beer, wines, soft drinks and local spirits such as raki and ouzo. Location is not bad with a short walk to the beach and the town of Hersonissos is a short walk or taxi ride away ( worth going to visit the aquarium/reptile center). The staff are Ok, in particular Connie is very friendly and helpful and Tony is quite possibly the best bar man on the island, very friendly, really funny and full of great conversation, i would return to this hotel just for him!
The only negatives i could think of for this hotel were the selection of food ( slightly repetitive) and the attitude of the older staff members, Evie told me off for taking too much (all inclusive!) food and the older couple, possibly the owners, shouted at us for making sandwiches from the all inclusive breakfast to take with us to the airport as we had a long wait before our flight, i think both of these instances were unfair as we had paid all inclusive and spoiled what could have been a perfect little holiday. i think this was just one bad experience and people should not be put off going because of this. This is a lovely quiet, charming hotel on a lovely island with mostly great staff and everything you need for a great holiday, this hotel is not full of clubbers, nor is it suitable for them. All in all a lovely holiday despite one or two minor incidents..

Room Tip: New built annexe rooms are lovely, our standard room with a sea view was perfect, and we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.8 km away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#27 of 184 in Hersonissos
367 reviews
3.3 km away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
603 reviews
1.5 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Dorian Boutique Apartments
Dorian Boutique Apartments
#2 of 2 in Limenas Chersonisou
4 reviews
0.4 km away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Garden

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 5433, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: $71 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cretan Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Cretan Garden Hotel Chersonisos
Cretan Garden Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing