We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Booking.com
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/01/22
Trip.com
US$158
View deal
PricelineUS$182
eDreamsUS$173
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
73
83
39
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
83
39
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small cozy atmosphere nice staff arctic svalbard town trips hostel winter aurora
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2020

Mary-Ann's Polarrigg is a quirky little hotel which reflects the mining origins of Longyearbyen in it's dormitory rooms and eclectic decor. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our twin room in the Miner's Rig was small but functional, though quite warm due to the fact that the heating can't be turned below a certain temperature in the winter or the pipes will freeze - don't wear thick pyjamas! The shared bathrooms were kept very clean and we never had to wait to use them. The shared living room space was a great place to relax. Breakfast buffet was great - a really wide selection of food and drinks which could be enjoyed in the lovely surroundings of the Vinterhagen restaurant. Although located a little way outside of the centre of Longyearbyen, it is a short walk or even shorter taxi ride, plus all tours will pick up and drop off outside the hotel. Overall, Mary-Ann's is a really comfortable and lovely environment to have as a base in Longyearbyen.

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank plucksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polarriggen, Front Office Manager at Mary-Ann's Polarrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Hey, thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And sorry about the heating, that just the way it is this far north:)) Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2019

The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is plentiful and tasty, the staff, very helpful and friendly, and the whole hotel has some nice old time feeling with fun decorations and a very cozy atmosphere. It is also a little bit out of town (10 mins walking) so it is quite peaceful and a greta place to see the aurora. I cannot recommend this enough.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arctic_Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

From the moment you leave the airport shuttle bus and head for reception you realise that this is no ordinary hotel. The old miners transport bus, now a haunt for smokers, the mannequin dressed as a miner, drill in hand, and the boat converted into a decking area give some clue as to the quirky, idiosyncratic decor that awaits within. The public areas are cosy with numerous old photographs from Longyearbyen’s historic past. A small kitchen is available for those wishing to cater for themselves with dining tables in the lounge area. The breakfast room / restaurant resides within a large conservatory with accompanying shrubs, and historic objet darts. The walk into the centre of town is only 10 minutes away and for those preferring to stay off the Main Street the location is very quiet. The staff are very friendly and attentive and I would recommend booking any activities via the reception as they give good advice. Nb all trips we booked picked us up from the hotel. Whilst looking around town we saw other hotels, and whilst I’m sure they are lovely none made me regret my choice of where to stay. Great breakfast too! I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryl_AndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

This is an old bunk house for miners, but we needed a hotel when our plane got in after 2AM so booked it. The room we had was very small with 2 single beds but very comfortable. There is a shared bathroom but it was fine. Breakfast was great with amazing variety of foods and the lounge was very comfortable after check out time. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also stayed in a more international hotel in town but preferred Maryann’s.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polarriggen, Front Office Manager at Mary-Ann's Polarrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Wow Lori Z.! That was really cool to read, thank you so much and we will be super glad to welcome you again! Best regards, Mary-Ann's Polarrigg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our 6 day adventure and wished we could have ended our trip here too as we absolutely loved every second of it and everything about the hotel. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and wonderfully warm. The bathrooms are right opposite and immaculately clean. The hotel staff could not do enough for us and we even got a lift into town one morning. The bar is wonderful and relaxing. This really is a unique and special place to stay and when we return to Svalbard this is where we would want to stay. Thank you for an amazing time.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pumpkinandpudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polarriggen, Front Office Manager at Mary-Ann's Polarrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Dear Pumpkinandpudding! Thanks a million for this amazing review! Satisfied guests make our work the best ever! Maybe see you again one day! Best regards, Mary-Ann's Polarrigg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews