We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place!”
Review of Huset Svalbard

Huset Svalbard
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$142
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Huset” is one of Longyearbyen’s most legendary buildings". During the dark season you see it lit up at the top of the valley, the town's beacon for culture and Community. Huset bistro is a historic local establishment. It has been the community's place of choice for wining and dining since the 50´s,where you can literally feel the atmosphere and culture within the walls. Huset Bistro offer an À la carte menu which is based on traditional home cooking dishes from the nordic countries. The fine dining restaurant is characterized with nordic techniques and tasting combinations, with ingredients coming from Svalbard and Arctic. Please visit our website for more information and for reservations.
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This is the best place to go to for an upscale dinner in Longyearbyen. Apparently they have one of the best wine cellars in Northern Europe and I do belive them as I have had a private tour in their amazing wine cellar. Don't forget that Svalbard is tax-free so you can drink amazing wine for very reasonable prices, and you should take advantage of this together with an amazing meal from this gourmet kitchen.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HusetSvalbard, Booking agent at Huset Svalbard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for a good review!

Hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards /Mattias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

The staff was rude and arrogant. We do not recommend this restaurant at all. Being one of the finest and most expensive places in town, they should select their employees more carefully.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank mcdl_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HusetSvalbard, Booking Agent at Huset Svalbard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review Huset!
We are very sorry to hear that your visit at Huset wasn't as you expected! We would like to get an opportunity to hear about what happened, if you have time please email us at booking@huset.com. Hoping to hear from you soon!
Cecilia - Huset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

All in all completely happy - had a great, romantic evening there with excellent food, lovely service, cosy atmosphere. Very relaxed - a food experience. I would definateley recommend to book a table there (advance booking recommended). Instead of wine I chose juices with the food and that was very taseful

Thank Dixi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HusetSvalbard, Booking Agent at Huset Svalbard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review of Huset Restaurant!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere at Huset Restaurant! I will forward your kind words to the kitchen and service staff. We hope to welcome you back to Huset soon!
Best Regards,
Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Nordic "film noir" like Broen and new nordic cooking has became an international hit this century.Nordic cuisine used to be dull, fat and boring or a bad French copy, partly due to lack of high quality raw materials apart from seafood.
Now there is av new trend using everything local from sea and forest or where ever. The result can be nice and good, but often it is a bit overdone in creativity.
"Huset" is the most Northern example of it. Huset means the house, the Folkets Hus (Peoples House) where trade unions of the coal miners used to meet, drink and sometime dance with the very few women in this community.
Today it is no workers in to be seen, only tourist longing for a culinary experience.
Five courses are the minimum, but adds up to eight because of three diffirent "amuse gueles". It a bit like la cusine nouvelle in the 1970-80ies. Large and deep plates with litttle in. Here stones and woodbits often is the plate broght to you with a long explanation what is on it. It can be five differete tastings/spices on the same plate. So you add upp with 8 your tongue has to part 40 different tastes. Quite a job.
So when the last bit of local cod and reindeer is served and there are still two more dessert, you feel enough is enough. The wine packet included three white wines , of which I like the riesling best. An Italian toscana was good with the deer.
Conclusion: Not my daily diet, a bit over kill?
During the night I dreamt about a sizzling steak, a juicy hamburger an a crispy chicken with French fries. I still wonder why.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kas2356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had an unforgettable dinner at Huset during over vacation to Longyearbyen, It was recommended by the hotel receptionist and true enough, it did not disappoint. We order the course meal with one wine pairing (it was shared between both of us as I am not a good drinker).
On top of the existing courses, they provided several extra courses and I could not even remember how many there were in total. To get a taste of Salvard, this place is a must try. By the way, we had our dinner from 8.30pm all the way till 12am and this was the longest time we spent just for a meal. Imagine having your dinner when the Sun is still up at night .. what an unforgettable experience. It was really expensive but highly recommended. One thing to note .. reservation is a must.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jolene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HusetSvalbard, Booking Agent at Huset Svalbard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for this great review of Huset Restaurant!
We are so happy to hear that your visit with us was an unforgettable experience! I will forward your lovely words to the kitchen and service staff and we hope to welcome you back to Huset in the future!
Best Regards,
Cecilia - Huset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huset Svalbard also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Huset Svalbard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing