We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
eDreams
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
60
70
21
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
70
21
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

Very successful event again. Just take the trip to Svalbard and everything is going well. If you want to get out and experience nature, you should choose a different time - not the Dark Season Blues Festival - it's a packed program.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThomasF900
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurtigrutenSvalbard, Front office at Coal Miners' Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

Hello Thomas,
thank you so much for leaving us a review.
I'm really glad to hear that you had a great time here, during the Dark Season Blues Festival.
It was a pleasure having you here, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back next year aswell! :-)

Have a wonderfull day.

Best regards
Eline
Coal Miners Cabins Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Situated a short walk up the hill from the town we had a family room in this excellent hotel. Comfortable and clean. Don’t expect anything grand or luxurious but staying here felt just right for the place and gave a feel for the town’s history and cultural heritage. Staff helpful and welcoming. The bar and grill was pretty decent too.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurtigrutenSvalbard, Front office at Coal Miners' Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Hello Mike,

Thank you so much for your wonderfull review. We are so happy that you liked it up here, and found our place comfortable and that you are pleased with the service we could provide you. I hope we get the chance to welcome you on a later occasion.

Have a good evening.

Best regards
Eline
Coal Miners Cabins Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

This hotel is a hostel with shower in the corridor.
It is very clean.
Rooms are ok but unfortunately the curtains don’t protect for the midnight sun so it is little bit hard to sleep.
Staff is so so but still a good value
Breakfast is good.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank johanekenstierna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurtigrutenSvalbard, Front office at Coal Miners' Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Dear Johan,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our hotel, especially the breakfast and we take your feedback about the curtains for the future to improve our hotel even more! Please feel welcome back!

Best regards
Gustaf Front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

This is a former coal Miners bunkhouse converted to individual rooms. But bathrooms down the hall. Very clean!,and great showers, 3 per floor. no elevator.

I think it was great, but my wife thought the rooms spare and did not like toilet and shower down the hall.

Full licensed bar and great breakfast. No eggs except hard boiled.

It is a strong downhill walk of 1.0+ miles.

Bus will take you to town for 70 NOK, about 9 dollars. There is little to see or shop in downtown. A small Arctic museum, miner statue, and a small shopping center, very small, with some shops, coffee bar, but no Starbucks, and. Spa. I have no report on the spa. A pretty good grocery store. All with Arctic prices but credit cards fully accepted and no markup

So, with that said, you save $100+ for this limitation, per nite

Far worth it IMHO.

Room tip: Great savings if you can accept limits
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ssilver628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurtigrutenSvalbard, Front office at Coal Miners' Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

Hello,

thank you so much for your nice review. We are really glad you liked it up here.

I hope we will see you here on another occasion. I would recomend you to come visit us in the winter aswell, to experience the real arctic and maybe spot the northen lights on a snowmobile trip! :-)

Have a really nice day.

Best regards
Eline
Coal Miners Cabins Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

.. if you are tired of standard hotels with no atmosphere. Coal Miners' Cabins is just our kind of place to stay. You can cater and cook for your self or you can have excellent dinners in "messen" where a bsic breakfast (included) is served. You stay in of the barracks that used to be the home for the coal-miners. Everything is totally up to date, clean and very cosy. Free wifi everywhere. Do not stay here if you prefer an ordinary world-wide hotel (boring) brand which you'll have forgotten the day after you've checked out. Stay here if you like the laid back, "backpacker-style". Very friendly and cool staff that genuienly is there for YOU. Expect a relaxed and easy going atmosphere

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 828rasmusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurtigrutenSvalbard, Reception at Coal Miners' Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
we hope to see you here again!
Kind regards,
Michelle
Coal Miners reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews