We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with limited choice of food but good quality”

Funktionaermessen Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Description: French menu with an Arctic view. At Funktionaermessen Restaurant wew serve classic French food, a rich selection of wine and elegantly decorated tables with a touch of class. This is fine dining at its finest.
Restaurant details
Description: French menu with an Arctic view. At Funktionaermessen Restaurant wew serve classic French food, a rich selection of wine and elegantly decorated tables with a touch of class. This is fine dining at its finest.
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Breakfast is excellent. The choices for diner are rather limited but they serve good quality. Staff is very friendly and efficient. The restaurant is located with a view on the mountain and fjord. Comfortable and well decorated dining room.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reneetje2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Leder  at Funktionaermessen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed Funktionærmessen Restaurant with its fantastic view, friendly staff and delicious food.

Hope to see you soon again!

Anne-Kari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant has a superb view over central Longyearbyen and the mountains across the fjord. We took the 7 course degustation with all courses being very tasty with service being attentive and friendly. The wine pairings were good and possibly the most generous servings for a dinner of this kind that I've experienced.
The only opportunity I see would be for the restaurant to have an update in decor but other than that it was a great night out.

Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

I just had the pleasure of visiting Funktionaermessen Restaurant for the second time. And I can honestly say after visiting Michelin restaurants that this place definitely deserve a one star! I had a three course dinner consisting of scallops as a starter followed by saddle of lamb as the main course (with spring vegetables, morel sauce, watercress and new potatoes) and ending with rhubarb (sea buckthorn and lemon curd, rhubarb crisp, toffee espuma and Matcha ice cream). If you have the time I higly recommend going for the seven course menu! The staff was extremely serviceminded and attentive and had excellent wine choices to accompany the menu I chose! They even provided excellent complimentary pre-starters and petit four to end the meal! Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Svalbard! Excellent food and great service is not only found in the great metropolitan cities of the world but also in arctic and remote corners of the world!

1  Thank JBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Funktionaermessen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear JBNorway,

thank you so much for this incredible review. We are so happy to hear that you think our restaurant deserves a Michelin Star. That is very motivational, and we are glad you recommend our restaurant to more people!

We hope to see you again, in our Arctic little corner of the world!

Kind regards,
Thora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

The food here is very good, and the restaurant looks over the town. I has the turbot - not a fish i expeted to eat in this location, it was nicely cooked.

Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Funktionaermessen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Wraxall,

thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that the food and the view is very good, and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Thora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I was staying at the nearby Haugen Pensonjat but right up the hill is the Spitsbergen. This 195.00 NOK spread is a great place to load up. I had plenty of good choices from yogurt to breads to danish to eggs and even snuck off a cheese and meat sandwich for later. Excellent choices, lots of cool and hot options and a great place to load up for a day of adventures. Yummy food, but I would have liked fresh fruit, which was missing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Funktionaermessen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Julia,

thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you tried out or breakfast, and that it was excellent with many choices. When it comes to fresh fruit, this is a luxury here in Svalbard, and we will of course try to have more of it in all seasons :)

Kind regards,
Thora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funktionaermessen Restaurant also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Funktionaermessen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing