We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub”

Barentz Pub & Spiseri
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Norwegian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Description: Welcome to the northernmost pub in the world - a relaxed place where everyone comes to hang out. Explore our food and drinks menu, or go for the popular daily special deal: A delicious home cooked meal prepared by our chefs.
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The barman was from Stoke which was very good as he was able to tell us about a lot of local things and also which was the best beer and food. A buzzy bar, considering it is in a hotel, with a good selection of food and drink and interesting guests.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Leder  at Barentz Pub & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Barentz Pub & Spiseri as well as the conversation with our friendly bartender.

Welcome back!

Anne-Kari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Nice and polite staff, okey and cozy place but a little bit worn down. In spring this year the prices were half of what they are now, so almost a raise of 50% on alcoholic beverages in a place were they dont have any taxes or fees on this feels like a rip off towards customers. You can find basically everything in the fridges and on the shelfs at the other places in town, much cheaper.

Thank JesperAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed at the Radisson and had several meals here, lunch and a few dinners. Good burgers. Nice seafood selections. Not a huge menu but big enough. Good service. Nice, welcoming place and would definitely come back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FastEddddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Leder  at Barentz Pub & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your positive reponse. I hope to welcome you back soon again.

Anne-Kari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

From the outside the building looks a bit sterile, but the bar in the Radisson hotel has been designed in a way that gives it some atmosphere, and it is comfortable, good selection of beers and drinks, and filling food. Friendly bar staff. Like everywhere on Svalbard, quite expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank polarbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, Leder  at Barentz Pub & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for your friendly feedback. Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne-Kari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

The reviews complaining about the service here are ABSURD. Between my boyfriend and I, we've stayed in Longyearbyen three times and have eaten here at least twice every trip and have gotten drinks here even more often than that. The bartenders here are the best in town. They're super knowledgeable about the menu, really helpful, super friendly, and also very interesting. We've had great conversations with every bartender here and through them have also met some very friendly and interesting locals. The ambience definitely has a nice arctic cabin-pub feel to it and they have a cozy little outdoor area too. And if this wasn't a good enough reason to come here the food has always been really good. While it might not have that touristy Norwegian variety you're looking for there are definitely some Norwegian specialities along with pizza, burgers, etc. and we haven't had a single bad meal here. They have a rotating specials menu too that offers a different meal based on the day of the week so there's always something new to try. Really can't recommend this place enough. 10/10 will come here again and again.

Thank ceallaigho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barentz Pub & Spiseri also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Barentz Pub & Spiseri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing