We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Super interesting museum to learn about North Pole expeditions

We went to this museum the last day of our stay in Longerbayen and we did not expect to have this... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2021
danielemS1926VY
Great experience

Super interesting to read about the different expeditions, even for someone who didn’t previously... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2021
chlo_k335
Read all 366 reviews
  
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
202
101
46
15
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
101
46
15
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polar expeditions exploration information stories objects arctic photos poli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2019

This museum is private and it has been set up by an italian.
There are a lot of documents about the North Pole expeditions.
There is not only the history of these but also some private stories about the main men involved: Nobile, Ramnundsen, etc.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northpolemuseum, Front Office Manager at North Pole Expedition Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2019

Thank you so much Rosario_it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

This is a tiny museum, located on two floors of a small building but don't let its diminutive size put you off: inside it is crammed full of interesting content about mankind's fascination, determination and obsession with discovery and conquest.

Admission is NOK100 per person, which is approx. £9/€10/$12 and outside of the dark season, it normally opens at 0900 and closes at either 1400 or 1700 depending upon the month.

Photography isn't allowed due to the flash sensitivity of some of the old papers and letters. There is the usual rack of shelves inside the front door for you to store your boots and changes into the crocs provided. When you go in, you're given a laminated sheet showing you the suggested route to navigate the exhibits. However, in my opinion, the best experience comes from reading the written text panels first (they are labelled alphabetically, corresponding to chronology, so start at A and follow the alphabet) which then put the corresponding exhibits in each section into context.

The stories described are mesmerising, detailing the various attempts to get to the North Pole by various means, with the most amazing being those in the era of the airship. The feats of the explorers are awe-inspiring, even more so when you realist the very basic equipment they had at the time, as is often shown by the old black & white news videos that are showing on loops, as well as some of the actual expedition footage.

As always, the remarkable tales of endurance when things went wrong are the ones that are most memorable, highlighting the sheer strength of the human spirit.

If you are American or particularly Italian, you have to take the time to visit this museum as your countries were at the forefront of the early expeditions and you will likely find out about some heroic countrymen about whom you knew nothing before.

The museum is located on the other side of the road behind UNIS (the large red building), in a wooden-clad building with the large airship on it. Stand with the UNIS building behind you, facing the fjord, and the museum will be in front of you on the right.

We spent a good hour in here but could easily have stayed for longer, taking more time to watch the old film and news reels. It certain succeeds not only in educating about the history of polar exploration but also in reinforcing just the remote & brutal this place is.

Highly recommended.

Thanks for reading.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Propaganda_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northpolemuseum, Front Office Manager at North Pole Expedition Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2019

Thank you so much Propaganda_Machine!
We truly appreciate your review, very detailed :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

Simple museum but very good content, we learned a lot on the topic and the histories told would be worth to me more known.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank yomyom206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northpolemuseum, Front Office Manager at North Pole Expedition Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Than you so much for your nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

I don't know what I was expecting from the North Pole Expedition Museum, but I enjoyed my visit. There was so much information spread over the exhibition, covering almost all of the history of Polar Exploration.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank notwaltermitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Effort has been put into the exhibition but one could say that there is "too much information", too many small items, letters etc that would take ages to properly go through. Bigger placates with summaries would be appreciated. Also more recent years, with climate change and changes in the North Pole, are not covered at all. Worth visiting but 10EUR is maybe too much, unless you really are an enthusiastic and are prepared to spend hours there.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Sanski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northpolemuseum, Owner at North Pole Expedition Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2019

Good Morning Sanski66 and thanks for your review.
1. The name of the Museum is "North Pole Expedition Museum". As the name says, we offer informations about history of the expedition to the North Pole started from Spitsbergen. We are not speaking about recent commercial expeditions.
2. We are not displaying informations about climate change as the name of the museum says. You could probably find this in Svalbard museum.
3. All the small items etc. are unique and giving to the visitors a deep knowledge about these stories that you cannot find in another places since they are directly provided by the relatives of the explorers.
4. We think that the price is not too high, specially because we give the chance to come back with the same ticket. This museum is private and it never got funds. For the same amount you can buy a beer here in town as you probably know!

Have a good day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews