We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding dinner”
Review of Gruvelageret

Gruvelageret
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$143
Description: Gruvelageret AS is location at a historical part of Longyearbyen in a former warehouse for the mining company. The interior represents 100 years of coal mining at Svalbard, and the kitchen focuses on arctic cuisine. We want to show you the history of Svalbard and Longyearbyen, combined with good food and beverage in a nice atmosphere right beneath the Longyear glacier. NB! We have problems with the location on TripAdvisor since we are not part of the road network. Please look at our website on how to find us.
Restaurant details
Description: Gruvelageret AS is location at a historical part of Longyearbyen in a former warehouse for the mining company. The interior represents 100 years of coal mining at Svalbard, and the kitchen focuses on arctic cuisine. We want to show you the history of Svalbard and Longyearbyen, combined with good food and beverage in a nice atmosphere right beneath the Longyear glacier. NB! We have problems with the location on TripAdvisor since we are not part of the road network. Please look at our website on how to find us.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We chose Gruvelageret for our wedding dinner based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and it definitely did live up to our expectations.

We were greeted by our host Terese who explained their 4-course menu in detail before taking our drink orders. As we had planned a trip early the next morning we both decided to go for the Innis & Gunn Rum Finish ale, a delicious ale which strangely worked well with all courses.

We were first served an appetizer of brown bear, a meat neither of us had tried before, and it tasted fantastic.

The first course was arctic char served with pea purée, beurre blanc and homemade crisps, brought the dish together with their crunchy texture and saltiness.

The soup was a borscht with smoked reindeer heart. This was probably my least favourite dish though delicious still. My wife, a former vegetarian, found the texture of the reindeer heart a bit out of her comfort zone and suggested she would prefer the soup with crispy bacon bits instead.

The main course was venison with parmesan potatoes, morel sauce and fresh berries. The venison was beautifully cooked with a lovely crust and pink centre. The berries - strawberry, blueberry and redcurrant - added a nice sharpness to the dish. This was by far my favourite of all the courses.

The dessert was a deconstructed cheesecake with a berry compote. The sharpness of the compote did a good job to cut through the rich cheesecake, and the base which was almost as crunchy as candied sugar added an extra texture to the dish.

We were well looked after by Terese who provided us with outstanding service throughout our meal and we cannot wait to return to Gruvelageret next time we visit Svalbard.

For what we got we didn't think it was too expensive either, food and drinks for the two of us came to just under 2000 kroner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin M, Public Relations Manager at Gruvelageret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello Morten and thank you for such a wonderful review! We also hope to see you back at Gruvelageret soon. All the best from everyone at Gruvelageret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Truthfully I had no expectations. What I found was a quaint quiet and cozy environment with a delightful staff. We enjoyed a 5 course menu showcasing salmon, smoked bear, borsht, reindeer and a deconstructed cheesecake. Each course was exquisitely presented and expertly crafted. In fact, as a retired restauranteur, I'd rate this as the best all around dining experience I've had and, I've had the privilege of dining in some of the worlds top restaurants. Chef Dimitri is a talent of extraordinary measure. I hope he will continue to explore and expand the marvels of new Nordic dining for years to come. This would be very good news for all of us who love adventuring in Norway's natural beauty and unique offerings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin M, Public Relations Manager at Gruvelageret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello Deena and thank you for such a wonderful review. It makes us so proud to hear that you, With Your experience, rate us so high. We hope to see you back in Longyearbyen and at Gruvelageret, and we hope we will marvel you then as well. All the best from everyone at Gruvelageret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The location will be the first thing to amaze you. Then upon entering the rough, wooden hut you will be blown away by the cozy, yet tasteful interior. The food is delicious and the service good. What more could you ask for.

Thank wbarnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin M, Public Relations Manager at Gruvelageret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for such a great review! All the best from everyone at Gruvelageret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The food was really good
you have no choice but fix 4 course menu
quite accommodating
as i allergic to mushrooms they change the sauces to red wine
wine .. please do not ask for sparkling wine... yuck.. service was not so good as the waiter was ,i think , as the first day ... not really up to standards! slow and unprepared
the dessert was really outstanding ..

Thank Kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin M, Public Relations Manager at Gruvelageret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello Kitty and thank you for Your review. We always strive to do Our best and we will take Your comments regarding service further. All the best from everyone at Gruvelageret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We had a really nicely dinner with tasty and innovative dishes along with nice wines. The restaurant had a cosy and contemporary atmosphere and very service-minded staff.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin M, Public Relations Manager at Gruvelageret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello and thank you for Your review! All the best from everyone at Gruvelageret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gruvelageret also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Gruvelageret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing