We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mains Farm Caravan Site(Kirkoswald)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilsland Hall Hotel(Gilsland)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
112
32
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
32
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady towerking oswaldgarden of edenlake districtthe kitchenpeel toweron arrivalfirst floorhigh standardrelaxing breakliving roombeautiful propertyluxury accommodationmanor houselarge familythese apartmentsvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here with our 8yr old son in Heavenfield 2 bed apartment. The Hall and apartment are beautifully decorated and to a very high standard. The grounds are wonderful with fantastic views and plenty of sunny spots to sit and relax with plenty of hideaways to also make it a great hide and seek location. The apartment had everything we needed in terms of cutlery, crockery and kitchen utensils etc and was absolutely spotless. There were lots of lovely little touches too such as the tea, coffee and milk waiting for us when we arrived as well as a little chocolate treat left for us to enjoy. The area has some lovely walks and the village of Kirkoswald has two good pubs and a little locally run shop which sells food and treats as well as sandwiches if like us you get a sunny day there and want to eat your lunch out in the countryside. There is a larger village, Lazonby not too fara drive away and they have a co-op however we opted for the slightly more lazy route and stopped off at the M&S foodhall in Penrith and bought the dine in for 2 meals and various other easy options. This worked out great as it left the days to explore the countryside and lakes and then home to the lovely apartment for the late afternoon sun and our evening meal. We all really enjoyed our 3 night stay here and would highly recommend it for couples or young families looking for a luxurious and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Heavenfield is great if you want a separate room to your children. It also has fabulous views of the countryside.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Yes, Heavenfield - such splendid and tranquil views. Very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable trip to us. Our super housekeeper is a gem and takes such a pride in the Hall and you clearly appreciated that. Thanks so much for your stay with at Staffield Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Staffield Hall is the perfect hideaway if you want luxury accommodation with stunning views and the sound of silence all around.
Immacullate accommodation with all mod cons, privacy and security as standard.
We had a beautiful stay here, four days break, leaving Staffield Hall feeling totally re energised.
Jackie the house keeper who discretly arrives each morning keeps these apartments immaculate, everything is just perfect for a switch off. You will walk in and say "wow" as you witness the stunning building, which retains its original features yet hosting a modern tasteful twist, to a very high spec, yet remaining very characteristic of the time it was built by n the mid 1800s.
The grounds are surrounded by rolling countryside and far reaching views, lambing season made it quite splendid as the only sounds were of the new born lambs and the pheasants that wondered about.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Thankyou Jackie, you're a star x

Room Tip: Every room is original and gorgeous - we intend to stay in a different apartment each visit.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Its an amazing place isn't it, Staffield Hall and enjoy being its guardians for others to enjoy. An old building can take a lot of upkeep and Jackie is a gem in helping us do that. The house was originally built for a bride, Lady Jane Agionby - lucky lady indeed. And now we can all have the opportunity to experience the Hall and its serenity. Thanks for your stay with us. p.s. I´ve passed your kind comments on to Jackie who is delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Delightful stay at manor hall. 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms amazing space
Lovely host. Fab kitchen. Loved it
Kids had a great time evening playing board games . Parking was easy and check in without any hassle

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank MN8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hello - I´snt Manor Hall just amazing? What beautiful views down the gardens and the Eden Valley. So pleased you enjoyed your break with us. Regards M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a four day break to Stafford Hall, staying in the Lady Tower apartment. This apartment is pet friendly so we took out four legged pal with us, and we all had a wonderful time. The apartment is on the first floor, reached by a wonderful grand staircase in the main hall. There is all you could ask for in your apartment, lovely fitted kitchen with everything you need if you want to cook rather than go out to eat, bathroom with whirlpool bath, the lounge has a dining area in it and the bedroom is more than big enough but with a cosy feel.

We ate out twice in The Fetherston Arms in Kirkoswald which is only 5 minutes away by car, where we received a warm welcome and we could take the pooch as they allow dogs in the bar area - we just made sure to book first as they get very busy and tables in the bar are limited.

I also cooked on two evenings, as the well appointed kitchen made this a pleasure, and the added bonus of no washing up as there is a dishwasher in the kitchen, along with full size fridge freezer, oven, microwave - all the usual suspects! We enjoyed plenty of country walks from our peaceful base at Staffield Hall, and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SC04OPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

We have Lady Tower for 2 and Manor Hall for up to 6 guests where a pet can stay. Its important that four our legged friends get a break away as well. I know its a lovely surprise when you enter Staffield and find the ´Great Hall´. In the summer evenings the colour from the stained glass reflects around and its simply beautiful. Thank you and your pet for staying with us. Kind regards M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My Wife, two kids (5&7 yrs old) stayed at Staffield hall during October half term for five days in king Oswald, which was the second time we have stayed at SH. Once again it was a great base to explore the Lakes, Carlisle and the Scottish Borders (Gretna and Hadrian's Wall).

Staffield Hall is a large Victorian residence with stunning views across the Eden Valley, split into several apartments. Our apartment was a spacious one bedroom apartment but due to the layout, it acts comfortably as a two bedroom apartment. It has all the amenities, great views, is warm and cosy and you don't get noise from the other apartments either. We had a hot water issue caused by a faulty connection and the issue was resolved very efficiently and so didn't impact our stay at all. The village of Kirk Oswald also has a couple of nice pubs with good food if you wish to eat out. All in all, a terrific place to explore Cumbria if you don't mind a 20 minute drive to the Lakes

Room Tip: King Oswald was lovely
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamessearby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews