We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand with all the mod cons, a special treat.”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017

A very special place to stay. If you don't mind being a short car ride from local amenities and about an 30-50 minutes drive from lots of the lake district tourist spots but very close to Scotland and the Fetherstone Arms close by does lovely food, very inviting (great pies). We stayed in the King Oswald with 2 children, there is a lovely four poster bed with views from every window, fields of lambs and partridges surround you. As my husband is too tall for a four poster, we slept in the bed in the sitting room which was lovely, large and comfortable. The high ceilings were spotless (no spiders webs) and there was a lovely welcoming tea and bisuits (with a box of maltesers for the kids) on arrival (a really lovely and unexpected gesture, not sure if this happens every time but it was very appreciated after a long drive). The shower bathroom was lovely and clean with good lighting. The heating was on all the time throughout our stay and it was lovely and warm, really cosy. There was lots of storage (a big wardrobe and chest of drawers in both bed areas). The four poster bed is in a bedroom of it's own, as this room is often used for romantic getaways, but if there are more of you, they put a nice antique looking metal bed in the sitting room and as the room is so large there is plenty of room for it. We used the kitchen facilities to cook a few nights and everything was included even oven dishes covered in foil in preparation (to protect them) and plenty of glasses/cups/plates and all the cutlery you might need. There was washing up liquid, toilet paper and lovely white robes and towels provided. The only thing I needed to get was kitchen paper and washing up gloves and some clothes washing liquid. There is a washer/dryer for clothes. A fabulous place, imposing on arrival but very friendly. They leave games and DVD's for residents to use in the main hallway. And in our room there was a DVD player for this and a big TV. Wifi is free to which is great. Just so you know this room we stayed in is on the 1st floor, so you have to take your suitcases up the grand staircase, so be prepared for that (there's no lifts) but the staircase is wide, deep and curved, very easy to walk up/down.

Room Tip: For Romance definitely the Oswald. For kids, it was fabulous too. (assuming they don't mind sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TAtmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi, You are right up our street !! We love the location of Staffield because you can easily get to see so much more of this corner of England than just the Lake District and it seems that you appreciated that feature too. We tried so hard to maintain the feel of the Hall during our renovations and hopefully you will agree we struck a good balance there. When you need another break you know how to find us. Thank you so much for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here with our 8yr old son in Heavenfield 2 bed apartment. The Hall and apartment are beautifully decorated and to a very high standard. The grounds are wonderful with fantastic views and plenty of sunny spots to sit and relax with plenty of hideaways to also make it a great hide and seek location. The apartment had everything we needed in terms of cutlery, crockery and kitchen utensils etc and was absolutely spotless. There were lots of lovely little touches too such as the tea, coffee and milk waiting for us when we arrived as well as a little chocolate treat left for us to enjoy. The area has some lovely walks and the village of Kirkoswald has two good pubs and a little locally run shop which sells food and treats as well as sandwiches if like us you get a sunny day there and want to eat your lunch out in the countryside. There is a larger village, Lazonby not too fara drive away and they have a co-op however we opted for the slightly more lazy route and stopped off at the M&S foodhall in Penrith and bought the dine in for 2 meals and various other easy options. This worked out great as it left the days to explore the countryside and lakes and then home to the lovely apartment for the late afternoon sun and our evening meal. We all really enjoyed our 3 night stay here and would highly recommend it for couples or young families looking for a luxurious and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Heavenfield is great if you want a separate room to your children. It also has fabulous views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Yes, Heavenfield - such splendid and tranquil views. Very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable trip to us. Our super housekeeper is a gem and takes such a pride in the Hall and you clearly appreciated that. Thanks so much for your stay with at Staffield Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Staffield Hall is the perfect hideaway if you want luxury accommodation with stunning views and the sound of silence all around.
Immacullate accommodation with all mod cons, privacy and security as standard.
We had a beautiful stay here, four days break, leaving Staffield Hall feeling totally re energised.
Jackie the house keeper who discretly arrives each morning keeps these apartments immaculate, everything is just perfect for a switch off. You will walk in and say "wow" as you witness the stunning building, which retains its original features yet hosting a modern tasteful twist, to a very high spec, yet remaining very characteristic of the time it was built by n the mid 1800s.
The grounds are surrounded by rolling countryside and far reaching views, lambing season made it quite splendid as the only sounds were of the new born lambs and the pheasants that wondered about.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Thankyou Jackie, you're a star x

Room Tip: Every room is original and gorgeous - we intend to stay in a different apartment each visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Its an amazing place isn't it, Staffield Hall and enjoy being its guardians for others to enjoy. An old building can take a lot of upkeep and Jackie is a gem in helping us do that. The house was originally built for a bride, Lady Jane Agionby - lucky lady indeed. And now we can all have the opportunity to experience the Hall and its serenity. Thanks for your stay with us. p.s. I´ve passed your kind comments on to Jackie who is delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Delightful stay at manor hall. 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms amazing space
Lovely host. Fab kitchen. Loved it
Kids had a great time evening playing board games . Parking was easy and check in without any hassle

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank MN8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hello - I´snt Manor Hall just amazing? What beautiful views down the gardens and the Eden Valley. So pleased you enjoyed your break with us. Regards M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a four day break to Stafford Hall, staying in the Lady Tower apartment. This apartment is pet friendly so we took out four legged pal with us, and we all had a wonderful time. The apartment is on the first floor, reached by a wonderful grand staircase in the main hall. There is all you could ask for in your apartment, lovely fitted kitchen with everything you need if you want to cook rather than go out to eat, bathroom with whirlpool bath, the lounge has a dining area in it and the bedroom is more than big enough but with a cosy feel.

We ate out twice in The Fetherston Arms in Kirkoswald which is only 5 minutes away by car, where we received a warm welcome and we could take the pooch as they allow dogs in the bar area - we just made sure to book first as they get very busy and tables in the bar are limited.

I also cooked on two evenings, as the well appointed kitchen made this a pleasure, and the added bonus of no washing up as there is a dishwasher in the kitchen, along with full size fridge freezer, oven, microwave - all the usual suspects! We enjoyed plenty of country walks from our peaceful base at Staffield Hall, and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SC04OPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

We have Lady Tower for 2 and Manor Hall for up to 6 guests where a pet can stay. Its important that four our legged friends get a break away as well. I know its a lovely surprise when you enter Staffield and find the ´Great Hall´. In the summer evenings the colour from the stained glass reflects around and its simply beautiful. Thank you and your pet for staying with us. Kind regards M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
11.6 km away
Roundthorn Country House
13.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
31 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
531 reviews
19.4 km away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
392 reviews
36.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range: S$123 - S$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing