We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good for spur of the moment food.”
Review of Plough & Sail

Plough & Sail
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Snape
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alex and Oliver Burnside reopened the doors of The Plough and Sail in April 2012. The twin brothers aim to offer their customers delicious food and drink, a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and exceptional service. Chef Oliver has a passion for quality, seasonal food, using produce from his local suppliers wherever possible and front-of-house Alex enjoys serving customers a range of draught lagers and ales, soft drinks and a fantastic wine list. Whether you choose a light, casual meal or a formal dinner in our restaurant, the menus feature traditional favourites, the best of modern British cuisine and dishes influenced from around the world. Every dish is cooked and presented with flair and imagination and is accompanied by a superb wine list.The Plough and Sail comprises of a spacious restaurant, a cosy bar and an intimate balcony area, perfect for private parties. There is also seating at the front of the pub and a courtyard area at the back where warm summer evenings and lazy Sundays can be enjoyed.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Good variety and choice for big and little eaters.Service good though a little slow given how quiete the resteraunt was.Atmosphere fairly basic and uncluttered which actually makes it easier with children or the elderly.
access easy for families with children and elderly or infirm relatives.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yvonnesuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBurnside, Owner at Plough & Sail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Susan S,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Alex Burnside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2016

We've eaten here several times now both for lunch and for an evening meal. It is much quieter in the evenings but we ate in a much smaller bar area with an open fire in the evening and it was very charming. Same menu as the lunchtime though I think. For lunch you eat in a larger restaurant which is a bit plain but the food is always good and the prices reasonable for what you get. There's always a good specials board and my only criticism as a regular user is that the menu doesn't change quite enough for me!

Thank AuntieMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBurnside, Owner at Plough & Sail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for your review – we are so glad that you enjoyed everything. We do run a different menu in the evening and have just changed our menu! Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Alex Burnside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

It was our second lunch at the Plough and Sail but I omitted to review the first time. We hadn't booked, having arrived at the end of a classic car road run. We were seated in the pub section and ordered pints of the local Grain Brewery Mild, one of the guest ales.

Forgoing starters, we both chose the skate wing, pan-fried in butter with capers. They were thick and tasty, served with boiled potatoes and an imaginative mixed salad. To follow we both had the treacle tart with clotted cream.

The service was swift and friendly and the bill reasonable for the quality of the fare. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBurnside, Owner at Plough & Sail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for your review. Myself and the team are so pleased you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again!

Best wishes,

Alex Burnside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Visited the Plough and Sail for a business dinner. Food was great and the service was exceptional. Chef even special made sticky toffee pudding for those of us that don't get it here in the States. Will definitely return.

Thank picard1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBurnside, Owner at Plough & Sail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,

Alex Burnside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Went for a family meal over the Easter bank holiday. We had a table reserved which was ready for us on arrival. The staff were friendly and polite. All of the party were happy with the food they ordered and enjoyed it. We ordered off the menu and off the specials board. The food here is great quality which is reflected in the price. Definitely worth what you pay, a great treat and lovely location with plenty to see and do after you have eaten. Very enjoyable experience and would return for a treat.

Thank naomikidd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBurnside, Owner at Plough & Sail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for your review. Our team work hard to provide customers with excellent customer service and quality food and we are so pleased you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,

Alex Burnside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plough & Sail also viewed

 
 

Been to Plough & Sail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing