We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and Lovely Food”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 24/09
20:00
Ranked #3 of 175 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Black Horse in Brentwood is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Fantastic service by Nina, always really friendly and attentive staff. Great meal too, will be back in the future. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank jen32946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jen32946,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review from your recent visit to us here at the black horse.

We’re delighted to see that you received wonderful service from Nina and that you enjoyed your meals.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you return to us again soon.

Kind regards,
Leigh & the black horse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Great meal and wonderful service. The server Nina was wonderfully attentive, smiley and helpful throughout.
I had the pork belly which was fabulous and served like a cordon bleu meal. Well done Danii and team in the kitchen. I liked that the menu included the chef’s name which was a nice juman touch. The setting is like an ‘old-school’ timber and low ceiling feel. Great ambiance. It was full on a Friday afternoon and it was definitely the place to be with family and friends.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Carmel M,

Thank you for your fantastic review following your recent visit to us; we’re delighted to see that you have awarded us the 5*s in which we strive for!

We do our upmost to ensure that we create a cosy and comfortable environment for our guests and that our service we provide and meals are of excellent standards for all of our guests; it’s wonderful to see this reflected in your comments!

Thank you again for such a wonderful review; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,
Leigh & the black horse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Yet again a lovely experience at the Black Horse. The food is delicious and the staff are so attentive without being intrusive, not to mention incredibly helpful and friendly especially Nina.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 558traceyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tracey’s,

We’re so pleased to see that we delivered another great experience for you and your guests; thank you for going out of your way to leave us such a lovely review!

Nina is a long serving and much loved member of our team, who strives on delivering exceptional service for all of the guests she serves; I will of course pass your kind words onto her!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another 5* visit!

Kind regards,
Leigh & the black horse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

On visiting family, we booked the Black Horse for lunch and once again we were not disappointed. The fish cakes were delicious. Great choice of menu and wine list. Our waitress Nina was attentive and polite. We will be back! Thank you x

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Adventure787501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Adventure787501,

We’re really grateful in you taking the time to leave us a review from your most recent visit to us.

I’m so pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals; the fish cakes are certainly a popular dish with our guests! I will of course be passing your kind words onto Nina and our team of skilled chefs!

Thank you again for your lovely review; we hope to see you return again soon.

Kindest regards,
Leigh & the black horse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Several visits to The Black Horse over the past couple of weeks & the food as always is lovely.
Tonight’s praise goes to Tom, who was friendly, helpful & welcoming. Not only with us but all the tables in our section.
We’ll be back soon !

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Daisybelleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Daisybelleblue,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review for your recent visit to us.

In particular I’m so pleased to see that Tom, our fantastic Assistant Manager, went above and beyond to ensure that your visit was most enjoyable; I will be sure to pass your kind words onto him!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leigh
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Borough of Brentwood, Essex
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.