We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations to the Head Chef ! ”

Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford
Ranked #18 of 376 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Price range: US$12 - US$41
Description: Now open the beautifully refurbished Running Mare, Chelmsford. Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales only a few miles from the centre of Chelmsford.
Restaurant details
Description: Now open the beautifully refurbished Running Mare, Chelmsford. Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales only a few miles from the centre of Chelmsford.
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Congratulations to the Chef !

We recommend very good food, soup of the day for starter and fish cake for main kebab with chicken yum yum. It's nice to see the chef working . We have plenty of restaurants in Chelmsford but it was not a mistake to try the food at Ego. We will be back here with great pleasure as the quality of the dishes is repeatable every time, which is a novelty for us from our experiences in other restaurants.

Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2020
4  Thank 88WilsonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much - this will make the Chef's day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2020

The food and service was lovely couldn't fault the place but the mock wood Formica grey tables killed it for a warm atmosphere they were last seen in a canteen. Shame.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank dilly1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Hi Ron - we're glad you enjoyed the food, drink and service and sorry for the tables not being to your liking. Hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Myself and my husband visited ego tonight for the first time, what a pleasure it was to served by our waitress candice, really attentive and friendly really made our visit. Food was great we will definitely be back

Date of visit: December 2020
4  Thank natalieludlow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much what lovely feedback to get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

I visited after lockdown 2 and was very impressed with the food, service and atmosphere. I would recommend the goats cheese to start and we had the kebabs for mains which were delicious. We were served by Matt b who was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back

Date of visit: December 2020
5  Thank N3515INjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much Julie that's great to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020 via mobile

Absolutely lovley meal could not fault it. I will definitely recommend this restaurant, staff were 10/10 and the manager was very friendly will be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2020
4  Thank K4455OWannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Thank you so much Ann. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford also viewed

 
Great Waltham, Chelmsford
 

Been to Ego at Running Mare, Chelmsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.