We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday dinner”

Pig & Whistle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pig & Whistle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 405 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lunch light bites, afternoon tea, sun terrace dining, evening specials menu & Sunday lunch. Experience our warm, relaxed and cosy restaurant in the Chelmsford countryside with hospitality and home cooked food five days a week.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant last Friday night, I had never been here before but it was lovely. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had some scallops to start and I had pork for mains, my boyfriend had the duck. Both were lovely. We were both completely stuffed and couldn't manage dessert but they did give us some rocky road which was completely delicious. A really lovely experience, I would love to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely experience. The staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful and very tasty. Some children's meals could,have feed an adult! Even though the restaurant was busy, we had good very good service and were not felt as if we had to hurry.
Everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed the meal, the service and the atmosphere. All who are local said they would definitely come again.
So a very big thank you for making a family occasion a very big success

Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Denise S

Thank you for your lovely review of the award winning P&W restaurant. It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to your return visit.

Many thanks

Brendan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here and recommend this restaurant without hesitation. We booked a table here last minute, we had intended to go somewhere else but they were fully booked and we took a chance based on a Google recommendation. If I’m honest, my first impression wasn’t great as the exterior of the building needs some attention but my fears were allayed on entering the restaurant which is very welcoming and a bit quirky. The food and service are first class and we will definitely return.

Thank onmehols69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear onmehols.

Many thanks for reviewing our award winning P&W Restaurant.

We are delighted you had a first class experience and we hope you will return again soon.

Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Brendan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch for my Birthday. We had a fabulous time and the food was brilliant, highly recommend the scallops and prawn starter!
The staff are so lovely and really can’t do enough for you. I was really touched with my Birthday treat and the homemade Rockie road and ’smurf marshmellows’ was a lovely gesture which the kids loved! Really helped calm my restless little ones!
Thanks guys hope to be back soon (child free!)

Thank kellycolch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kellycolch.

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted you had a lovely birthday lunch. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and your lovely family.

We look forward to a return visit.

Many thanks again.

Brendan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

The whole atmosphere was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and everyone enjoyed their meals. A significant achievement in a party this size. My starter was so pretty it was a shame to eat it. The quality of the food was excellent. Thank you it was a lovely lunch.

1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Pig & Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear John.

We are delighted you all had a lovely Saturday lunch at the award winning P&W restaurant. It was an absolute pleasure serving you all and delighted you enjoyed your food.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Brendan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle Restaurant also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Pig & Whistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing