We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Pub/Restaurant”
Review of The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rose and Crown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 399 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Description: The Rose and Crown is a traditional English Restaurant and Pub in the idyllic village of Great Waltham, Essex. On the outskirts of Chelmsford, the Rose and Crown offers a seasonal menu with a large variety of dishes at affordable prices. In addition to this, a selection of draft and bottled Ales and Lagers are available, and the friendly and inviting atmosphere is in-keeping with village life. Ben and the team look forward to welcoming you to the Rose and Crown soon.
Restaurant details
Description: The Rose and Crown is a traditional English Restaurant and Pub in the idyllic village of Great Waltham, Essex. On the outskirts of Chelmsford, the Rose and Crown offers a seasonal menu with a large variety of dishes at affordable prices. In addition to this, a selection of draft and bottled Ales and Lagers are available, and the friendly and inviting atmosphere is in-keeping with village life. Ben and the team look forward to welcoming you to the Rose and Crown soon.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The Rose And Crown is a real pleasure to visit, suburb food, excellent service, and a great atmosphere, we have visited now on many occasions, lunch time, evenings, and Jazz nights. We eat out regularly and both agree that this is definitely our favourite. It is such a treat to find somewhere that has got it absolutely right, well done to the management and staff.

2  Thank hutley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben J, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

So wonderful to hear we “are your favourite”....it is lovely to read you have visited on several occasions the Jazz Nights are a favourite with our regulars.

Thank you for your positive remarks long may we get it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

I took my parents here for lunch. There are plenty of very friendly staff who can't help you enough. We had tiger prawns wrapped in bacon, it was delicious!!! The menu is extensive and the whole vibe is friendly & cosy. We will be back!!!

Thank Lynny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben J, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing it is always lovely to hear our customers enjoy our cosy, friendly pub tucked away in the village of Great Waltham. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I’m part of a small monthly walking group and the organisers of this months walk picked this place as start/ finish. The pub arranged for coffee for us at 10.00 allowing us to pre order lunch. Gill ( the manager I think ) was absolutely delightful. Sorted us out for coffee and lunch and then we were off. On return we had a table for 11 and were served promptly by the team of three . The food was superb. Everyone of us commented on how good it was, how much there was, how good and varied were the vegetables ... not one morsel left tells the whole story, I had liver and bacon, no gristle anywhere , superbly cooked with a rich jou and delightfully creamy potatoes. Others had the haddock, turkey pie ( full,of meat unlike some pubs that pad it with veg!) , fish and chips, jacket, scampi, risotto and all rated excellent. The ambience of the place is like an old fashioned real English pub with some superb food on offer , good comfortable surroundings but with the ability to walk in off the street , sit at the bar, have a natter and a pint and go home. Great place, smashing people and above all , for what we had , very reasonable. Of our dozen or so pubs for lunch inthe past year this was by far the best .. and we are fussy! Well done to everyone for making us so welcome especially Gill who had me to put up with !

3  Thank michaelmoore458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben J, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

What more could be said......Thank you for such an extensive and positive review it is so important to us that all who enter through our door have an enjoyable experience and it sounds as though you and your walking group had a wonderful walk followed by our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you all back. Again thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Had a really great meal, service was very good and friendly, food was excellent, went here for Mothers day as a party of eight. Extremely good value for money considering the quality of the food, we didn't arrive until 5.30, what was really refreshing, they had everything available on all the menu`s, rather than "oh sorry we have just run out of that"
Would highly recommend 5*.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnmayhew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben J, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for such a positive review. Mother’s Day was extremely busy and very successful it seems as though all who dined with us together with yourselves had an enjoyable Mother’s Day.....Mother’s are just so precious. Thank you for your 5* review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

First visit to the R & C. We were a party of four; we had had to change the time of our reservation which was not a problem for the R & C team and was handled very pleasantly and professionally. Staff very pleasant; lunch was served piping hot along with a good selection of vegetables which were cooked perfectly. Our only issue was with the service as it was a bit disjointed; my other half having to go to the bar on 3 occasions to chase our wine and other drinks with 3 different members of staff, however an apology was forthcoming (they were very busy which is always a good sign). We had the table by the front door and adjacent to the bar which was a bit distracting/noisy (people looking to see what we were eating) and chilly at times so I would definitely ask for a table at the back or snug etc. Other than those minor gripes I would highly recommend this quaint and vibrant country pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 974MrsW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben J, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We were so pleased we were able to accommodate your change of time and that you enjoyed your meals. However, we must apologise that our service concerning your drinks order was a little disjointed.....it can be busy especially on Sunday Lunch service in the bar area so we would definitely suggest requesting a table in the Restaurant, Snug or Old Office although we do have customers who request to be in the hub and atmosphere of the bar area.

Thank you for taking the time to review it is so important that we are made aware of issues which can then be addressed and rectified. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing