We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very warm and friendly”
Review of Barton Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clacton-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very warm and friendly”
Reviewed 4 June 2008

i took my family away for a small break we fell apon this small hotel went in and spoke to a really nice lady and booked for 1 night we had such a lovely evening we booked for another night we are now going back at the end of june with all our family to stay its a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms.

  • Liked — comfort and very clean
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank curly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I have recently stayed at this hotel, I have been advised that it has changed hands since the past two reviews, It now has a beautiful restaurant called Chambers, fantastic a la carte food. The bar is quiet and as you would expect of a hotel, (now called No1 Bar) and I found the rooms, immaculate and well equiped. I was made feel very welcome by all the staff, and actually booked another stay whilst I was there. I was not intending to but cant wait to go back now. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!

  • Liked — quality of service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garethhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Almost the same as the other review here, done a year earlier.

Wish I had read it before booking. Booked two nights but left after the first.

Unbearable noise, room, staff, parking.

DON'T DO IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank suds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

Please, please do not stay in the hotel if you are looking for a pleasant relxaing break of any sort!
We booked a one night stay at the Barton after looking around for other hotels for a break away out of London on the bank holiday weekend. We arrived at the Barton about 11am and the owner was kind enough to let us check into our room early - this was the only plus point of the hotel. On checking in I asked whether the hotel was full and was told it was nearly fully booked.
We then went to our room, which was fairly small and basic, and rather cheaply kitted out - we weren't expecting full luxury for £65 a night, but since arriving had seen a number of other hotels much cheaper than this, so were expecting something worth the money.
We then went out for the day, returning to the room at about 9pm, by which time there was a loud and very smoky karaoke party in the downstairs bar at the hotel - we had been told the piano bar of the hotel was in a separate building over the road, so this was rather a surprise. Anyway, we gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt and went to our room to see whether we could hear the music/ smell the smoke. As our room was on the first floor, it was no surprise the music could be heard in our room - loud enough to stop us from sleeping. However, worse than this was the overwhleming smell of cigarette smoke in our bedroom. Neither of us are smokers and we had asked for a non-smoking room.
I contacted the front desk to ask whether there was any possibilty of moving to another room and was told someone would be up to see us. When this girl arrived she just told us that she couldn't smell any smoke and that people had stayed in the room before and not complained. She then went down to see the manager to see if there was another room we could move to. She returned shortly and told us there was a twin room (as we are a couple, we had booked a double) which was on the same floor, but further away from the party, so it might not smell of smoke as much. We looked at the room, then asked if there were no other rooms - we could still hear the music from this room and had been told that it would go on until about midnight. We were taken down to see the manager, who came in to the room we were waiting in with a very aggressive, 'So what's the problem?!' I politely explained again the issues with the room and asked if there was anything she could do. The manager was extremely aggressive throughout the discussion and refused to apologise, instead making us feel like we had done something wrong. She denied that our room smelled of smoke, and even tried to make me go into the party to physically show me how few people were smoking! A little pointless as I had already been in when looking for someone to speak to and seen about 70% of the people in there smoking. Eventually we moved to the twin room, as we decided the cigarette smoke smell was worse than the noise at that stage. However, the noise got louder and continued until past 1.30am, keeping us awake the whole time. The twin room we were given was very dirty, and extremely cold. In the end, despite having paid for breakfast, we got up at 6.30am having hardly slept and returned to London.
Please, please, please do not stay in this hotel!!

  • Liked — Location - quite central
  • Disliked — Everything else - especially the customer service.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LondonSMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
385 reviews
2.3 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
551 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#7 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
101 reviews
0.0 km away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
144 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Hotel

Property: Barton Hotel
Address: 1 Orwell Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PR, England (Formerly Wavecrest Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing