We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special”
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We booked here having tried other Vintage Inns. Whilst a very historic building the services was iffy and food not brilliant. Waitress didn't seem to know how to operate the electronic ordering device. Hence, forgot a starter which arrived after all the others had finished. The so called triple cooked chips didn't seem to have been cooked once. All decided we will not be returning.

2  Thank ace97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Ace, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was our third visit to the King’s Head while staying with our family in Essex. We had been there for Sunday lunch twice before and this time we were there for an evening meal.

There was a good choice of starters and sharing platters. Between us we had the prawn and lobster cocktail and the box-baked Camembert.

For mains, there was a choice of chicken, lamb shank. seabass, salmon fillet, steaks or burgers. They cater for vegetarians and there was roasted butternut squash and mushroom tart with caramelised red onions and blue cheese sauce, served with a dressed side salad. Four of us had the steaks and I had the seabass, which was very enjoyable.

There was a good choice of desserts on the menu and between us we sampled the apple pie, chocolate brownies and the cheese and biscuits.

As on our previous visits, the service was very good and the waiting staff were polite and friendly. We all enjoyed our meals and the drinks from the bar were reasonably priced. We will definitely be visiting the King’s Head again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
11  Thank Sandygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The King's Head, North Weald. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Operated by the successful Oakman Inns group, I was not disappointed when we had Sunday lunch here.There was a good choice but I opted for the Roast Beef which was delicious and I counted no less than 6 different veg on my plate plus potatoes. So making room for a dessert was difficult. In fact the Eton Mess was too big and had too much cream for my preference but it was nice. I like the support of local brewery and the beer was really good. Interesting building development and nice views from outside dining area. Has a car park at the back which I was unaware of. Popular with contented diners so probably booking like I did is a good idea and can be actioned online and you also get a reminder nearer the date so you can't forget!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vincent12089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Vincent12089, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The King's Head, North Weald!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This is a very good pub friendly staff good service good choice of beers but the food lacks the little things that make food stand out the sandwiches lacked any green stuff and are very basic

Thank Mick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Mick C, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The meal and service was great , although a couple of items on the menu were unavailable , the food was excellent . There was a discrepancy with the final bill as we were charged for two minor items we did not receive .All things considered we had a nice day and my wife and I agreed we would return again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Debbie W, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

North Weald, Essex
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Boreham, Essex
 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing