We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We survived Room 13 - just!”
Review of Escape Live

Escape Live
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Escape Live is an Escape Game for groups of 2-6 people located in Southend-On-Sea, the heart of Essex. You have 60 minutes to complete a mountain of puzzles and mysteries. The aim is simple, get out before it's too late. Proud to rated by TripAdvisor as the No.1 Fun Thing to Do in Essex.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is a must do experience. Came here with my family on 28/3/18. My birthday present from our eldest daughter. Many thanks to gamesmaster Fran. She is brilliant. Very helpful. We survived Room 13 with 7 seconds to spare. It’s so so good. Our first time at any escape live. Highly recommend this for any kind of group..work colleagues, family, friends etc. Experience Room 13 for yourself, trust me you will not be disappointed

2  Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLive, Manager at Escape Live, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hi there,

What a terrific birthday gift!

Your feedback is so important to us and it's great to know that you found our games to be both fun and challenging for all ages.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your escape experience and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dr wilsons office"
in 58 reviews
"seconds to spare"
in 55 reviews
"great fun"
in 126 reviews
"walkie talkie"
in 28 reviews
"game master"
in 25 reviews
"wilson room"
in 14 reviews
"explained everything"
in 22 reviews
"hospital room"
in 8 reviews
"no idea what to expect"
in 10 reviews
"team building"
in 15 reviews
"well thought out"
in 12 reviews
"brilliant experience"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 14 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 8 reviews
"high street"
in 14 reviews
"year olds"
in 10 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 8 reviews
Filter

98 - 102 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved it. 1st time in an escape room. Our gamesmaster was Fran who was excellent. 100% recommend doing this challenge. All 5 of us throughly enjoyed it.

2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLive, Manager at Escape Live, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

We are so pleased you visited us for your debut escape! It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the challenge.

We love to know how our customers found their experience so thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Great time had by myself my son and daughter and lee the gamesmaster was absolutely fantastic looking forward to coming back and trying the other one

2  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLive, Manager at Escape Live, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Your feedback is so important to us and we are super happy that you enjoyed your escape experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Have never done one of these experiences before but myself, my partner and his 15 year old daughter tackled this. It was brilliant fun and the guys really help set the scene and give you clues if needed. It was ingenious and encourages you to work as a team. I'm glad to say there were no arguments in our team until we were deciding who had solved the most clues. Would highly recommend. 5 Star

2  Thank LouLou090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLive, Manager at Escape Live, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Your feedback is so important to us and it's great to know that you found our games to be both fun and challenging for all ages.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your escape experience and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Went on 23rd March 2018. Having picked up our daughter and four of her friends from school, the. anticipation from a group of 8 and 9 year olds was palpable...

We had booked this for our daughters 9th birthday as something a bit different from the usual trampoline parks, roller skating, gaming etc but were a bit nervous as to how this would go down with them!

What on Earth was there to be worried about? 5 kids and me... trapped in a locked room.. for an hour.. with no way out without a bit of deductive brain power... after a week of school.. surely nothing to be concerned about right?!

Having been greeted by our host -. Who was fantastic with the kids from the minute we walked in - we received our instructions and do’s/don’ts and were led to the room.

The key turned...
The countdown began...

IT WAS BRILLIANT!

Having 5 kids at your disposal to search for clues is probably quite an advantage really - they look EVERYWHERE!

They found so much stuff and then set about solving the puzzles which were pretty intuitive and logical and with a bit of guidance proved incredibly worthy of the event.

They absolutely LOVED it! Having at least one of them reminding us every couple of minutes as to how long we had to escape provided no extra pressure at all

With some ingenious codes and some clever clues, the challenge of 60 minutes is worthy.

With 7 minutes and 53 seconds to spare... the kids all made it out which was made all the sweeter for them by the fact that there class teacher had done this room before and they beat his time - an added bonus!

Their verdict on the game - “best thing we’ve ever done and the best party we’ve ever been too”

Pretty much sums it up in a nutshell - thanks kids!

3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLive, Manager at Escape Live, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018


What a fantastic birthday treat!

Finding all the hidden items is a crucial part of our games and kids do seem to be very good at that! It's great to know that you found the experience to be suitable for younger players.

Congratulations on escaping within the time limit. A superb performance and with the added bonus of beating the teacher's time. Well done!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your escape experience and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Live also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Escape Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing