We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
195
122
38
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
195
122
38
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sitting room hot buffet breakfast was buffet style home from home friendly hotel cliffs pavillion the main hotel room was spacious breakfast was excellent stayed for one night a lovely stay full english town centre bernie sea toaster pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Upon arrival my husband waited outside while I ran in to check in and find out about the free parking area. The gentlemen told us where to go and he met us there and guided us back through the hotel.
Check in was quick and easy and we were in our room in a matter of minutes.
The room itself was incredibly spacious and very clean. We were only in the room for a few hours before we headed off to the Cliffs Pavillion to watch Jimmy Carr which was a short walk of 7 minutes!
We then returned just gone midnight and had the best night sleep I've had in a while.
The following morning we got up and headed downstairs for breakfast which was a buffet. You had a choice of the typical full English, Cereal, Fruit, Toast and Jam/Butter. If you wanted your eggs cooked a certain way you just asked your waiter who would get the kitchen to cook however you wanted.
Would definitely reccomend this hotel. I will definitely be coming back soon.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank laurenhodgesxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertie_Southend, Owner at Ilfracombe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Hi Lauren, Many thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated. We too look forward to seeing you back again. Best Wishes, Bertie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Lovely welcome as usual from Berty and his family. Been coming here for 18 years now, always stay in the apartments, all good.
Walk in to Southend-on-Sea from here, for shopping and bars.
Buffet breakfast is always good the poached eggs are the best ever.
See you all soon.
Thank you for having us.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackieseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertie M, Owner at Ilfracombe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Thank you very much for your kind comments ta Jackie, much appreciated. Best wishes to you both. Bertie & Drita xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

We were off to see the Panto as we love the Orkian Chappie -LOL and, as it was the last night, we booked the Ilfracombe.
WONDERFUL, FRIENDLY, Place--We have travelled all over the UK/ Europe/the World and what a friendly place this is--Spacious room/Light/Airy-excellent bathroom with a HOT shower-- AND a FRIENDLY BAR tat doesn't rip the guests off---Love this place and we WILL return !!-Wonderful Fresh Breakfast BUT it's best to come down EARLY or LATE as it's FRESHLY PREPARED and if everyone arrive at the same time--NEVER MIND---WONDERFUL, FRIENDLY,--BETTER than places we have stayed in ALL OVER THE WORLD !

Room tip: We were in Room 4--dual aspect but no views--WHO CARES--Lovely Room/ Lovely Shower and wonderful hosts !!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed overnight for a concert visit. Ideally situated about 5 minutes walk from the Cliffs Pavilion.
Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and bright.
The staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was buffet style and OK.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suffolk_Puds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2019

We stayed to see a concert at the Cliffs Pavilion - a 6 minute walk away;
The staff were friendly and professional, the room was modern and clean, the breakfast was delicious and very varied as to what you could have - we didn't go wanting, everything was thought of.
Thank you for having us!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hercules1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews