We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$163
US$125
View deal
Expedia.comUS$163
Priceline
CheapTicketsUS$163
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
192
121
38
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
121
38
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sitting room hot buffet breakfast was buffet style home from home friendly hotel cliffs pavillion the main hotel room was spacious breakfast was excellent stayed for one night a lovely stay full english town centre bernie sea toaster pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2020

Lovely large clean well furnished room. Friendly staff especially Bertie who really looked after us. Option of evening meals if preferred.
Brilliant social distancing observed. Lovely breakfast of your choice, cereals or any combination of cooked breakfast you wanted. Nice short walk onto the front so close to town centre and beaches.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank angela28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2020

This is the first time we have stayed at The Ilfracombe. We chose The Ilfracombe because of its location. We was within walking distance to both the beach and the town centre.

Upon our arrival we was greeted by a very pleasant young man. He guided us where to park, and took us to our room.
Our room was absolutely stunning. It was newly decorated and to a high finish. We immediately felt like we was at home. It was everything we wanted and more. We had a bath as well as a shower, and this was also recently decorated to a high standard. The wife is now looking for the tiles as she loved the bathroom.

We had a really good sleep, being so close to town we expected a little noise, but to our pleasant surprise all we heard was seagulls from the beach.

In the morning we went down to breakfast, we had a mixture of cereals and a cooked breakfast to choose from. Due to covid-19 precautions there was a gentleman taking orders and serving them from a hot plate, to stop all the guests using the same utensils etc. Breakfast was great and certainly had us full and ready for our day out in Southend.

Its so hard to leave a review for this hotel, you really need to see it for yourself.

We will certainly be staying again.

Good points

-Location is superb, close to everything without being too close so at night you are away from the noise

-Superb breakfast

-Stunning room

-Cleaned to a high standard

Bad points
-I now have to return home and decorate a bathroom

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank B475LOjamesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Our room was lovely - bigger than usual for a guesthouse or bnb. The bathroom was big, modern and very clean. Service was lovely. The bar and sitting room were a lovely surprise. Breakfast was nice.

If I'm looking for a negative...? More tea options in the room would have been nice (PG Tips is really not our thing), and a better wine menu in the bar. Also, the breakfast is table service but that isn't made apparent.

They are small things though. We really had a lovely stay and the location was ideal. We will absolutely go back when we next need to be in Southend.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W3992VWalicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms with good showers. Nice bar and lounge area. Good location near the seafront, pier, gardens, Cliffs Pavilion and restaurants. Hotel also serves evening meal and we ate in one night. The vegetable lasagne was very tasty.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawJ4783JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Although we could not fault the welcome and friendliness of the staff, the breakfast was disappointing, this is a 4 star hotel and had just a small hot buffet choice. There were scrambled eggs and if you wanted fried or poached you had to ask. We did this and on the first day the eggs were not cooked and the second day the service was awful. Cold coffee and warm food. Cramped breakfast room, some tables with toasters on them.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews