We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Osborne View

Osborne View
Reserve with OpenTable
Osborne View is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 172 Restaurants in Fareham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The pub was busy inside and we decided to sit outside. There was loads of tables that had uncleared glasses on them and staff who were not interested in clearing them. 1 table had uncleared plates. 1 member of staff really didn't want to be there (uninterested with all forms of customer service) Ordered 2 food dishes, 1 of which turned up uncooked (chicken was pink). No call back so had to inform the staff. Supervisor did deal with the issue promptly and effectively giving a refund and 2 free drinks. Left hungry....Got a takeaway on the way home!

Thank BassMonster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Osborne View, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

After being recommended this place by my partners work colleague as a great Gastro Pub we decided to give it a try. We stood around for a while and then asked at the bar about ordering food. We were told to take a seat and someone would come to take our order. We got some drinks and sat at a table and waited and waited and waited. My partner went back to the bar and asked again about ordering food and again we were told to take a seat and someone would come to take our order. We waited for another 10 minutes. Finally a waitress took our order and it didn't take long for the food to arrive after that. My partner had a veggie burger and fries - the fries were cold. I had a pie, mash and "seasonal veg" which consisted of hard carrots and broccoli. We weren't impressed by the service or the food by this point. Our desserts were pretty poor and the cream was from a can. We asked for the bill and were left waiting for a further 20 minutes. My partner went to the bar to ask to pay and the waitress walked off on him and then another waiter ended up serving us. The experience as a whole was a bit of a joke and as we were leaving we saw something that summed up our visit (see attached photo). We would not return - nice views though!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jweston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Osborne View, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The Osborne is our local and we haven't visited for over a year - why? because sadly the comments on Trip Advisor are true. Service is unpredictable and the food isn't great. It's a mass careering pub and because of its location right on the beach it is always full and people have complained about the service for years. Our experience yesterday evening was to order a jug of Pimms and vegetarian nibbles at the main bar. The Pimms was excellently prepared by the barmaid - she really enjoyed adding the mint, strawberries etc and we payed for our nibbles. She told us to inform the bar on the decking what our table number was so we carried the full jug and two glasses down 3 flights of stairs to the deck - lovely comfortable chairs and a view of the sun setting over Fawley. We waited and waited and on the 3rd time of asking Gerard put our order in again and asked the kitchen to do it as soon as possible. We felt sorry for the waitresses having to carry all the food orders from the middle level down to the deck and garden tables. Why not install a dumb waiter lift? Our waitress dropped a piece of pitta bread and asked if we wanted it replaced - it never was and the bread remained on the decking. After a busy Sunday I'm sure everyone is tired but the decking looked scruffy with paper napkins (and pitta bread) everywhere. My partner said the one ladies toilet looked scruffy with a rusted toilet roll holder.
Presumably it's not easy to get staff with caring attitudes and people accept mediocrity unlike in most other European countries waitresses and waiters want to do the best. Breezes opposite is much smaller and trains their staff well with super healthy food prepared by an excellent chef. Sadly the Osborne View remains a poor standard in terms of service and food. It's quantity over quality.

Thank BobH764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Osborne View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Arrrived to long queues to order food. On ordering told food would be 45 minutes. Came 1:15 minutes later and was stone cold. Appeared to be taking more orders than they could possibly fulfil. Would give it a miss. Shame as nice location.

Thank mark_carpenter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Osborne View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Waited for 1hr 15minutes for a burger and when it finally arrived everything was cold. The service was crazy slow as they didn't seem that busy. Demanded a refund which I received. This pub is ok for drinks because of location. Food service/ quality is best avoided. If it wasn't near the sea it would of gone down the pan ages ago.

1  Thank jasonhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Osborne View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osborne View also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Bursledon, Southampton
 

Been to Osborne View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing