We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working as hard as they can!”
Review of Luzborough House

Luzborough House
Ranked #22 of 105 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: pub/restaurant serving good food 11am to 10pm 7 days a week, 4 real ales and dog friendly. Large garden with bouncy castle (in summer months) large car park
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Slightly slower then usual, but you can see the staff are all working as hard as they can in these difficult circumstances. Food was still beautiful and the service was friendly!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABOJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Luzborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Aboj13, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We asked for a table to seat 9, we were assured there would not be a problem with that. On arrival we were shown to two separate tables we explained our booking request and asked for one table. The staff were reluctant to do anything, we called the manager, she too was reluctant to do anything, but eventually authorised moving tables to form one large one having first stated "it was not her fault, I did not take the booking". After that the service was abysmally slow, the food was just about adequate and no-one offered an explanation or an apology, least of all the so called manageress.
We wrote to the CEO who passed it to the area manager, who wrote a letter full of platitudes but no action.
To say we are disappointed is understating our feelings; suffice to say it will be a frosty friday in summer before we visit again.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidfH7613QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Luzborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We asked for a table to seat 9, we were assured

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

On entering there were signs saying they were short staffed etc.

Was welcomed within a minute of arriving and taken to a table.

Had interactions with 4 or 5 staff there and they were all excellent- friendly / positive / helpful.

Food was excellent, I had the sirloin steak and it was one of the best I have ever had.

There was a bit of a delay with dessert but as soon as I highlighted this to a team member it was resolved very quickly.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Luzborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andrew,

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit, take care!

Kind regards,
Benjamin Crompton
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

I have previously visited and have been satisfied but tonight was not the case. The chairs were dirty and the table was sticky. We didn't have a reservation but the staff did find us a table.

We ordered a sharing platter for starter and it was just a deep fried nightmare ! Presentation was awful and taste was the same.

My better half has always liked the macaroni cheese but it used to be made with goats cheese . Alas no more . This had been substituted for brie apparently but this was hard to find. No shallots or spring onion as stated on the menu either.

I had the sausage and mash. The standard of the sausages was noticeably different than before. No champ in the champ mash or crispy shallots either.

All in all a very disappointing experience. The tired dirty decor, tables and cutlery along with the below average food a real shame. We shall not be returning anymore !

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Nik10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Luzborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Nik10101, it is really disappointing to hear that your experience was anything less than great, and your feedback will be taken on board. Please get in touch with us at 7849@greeneking.co.uk so we can look at finding a resolution for you.

Kindest regards,
Benjamin Crompton
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

We have been visiting The Luzborough for a number of years, and this is the third time we have visited since restrictions have been lifted. We have had some nice meals there but not this time .

I don't know if there is new management? The staff looked different and they didn't seem very organised.

We have loved the nachos before, as they were always nicely prepared and served, but this time they looked like a packet of doritos had been put in a bowl with some toppings slapped on the top.

Main wasn't enthralling, scampi with bread that was hard. Partner had steak which was cooked fine, but it came out with a salad garnish that looked like it had been sat in the sun all day and an incinerated tomato.

Such a disappointing £42. We won't be going back, I had a big table booked for a Celebration coming up but on this evening's meal. I have cancelled.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank michieluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Luzborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Hello Michelle,

This review is disappointing to read.

No we are not under new management, just extremely difficult circumstances since restrictions lifted.

I’d like to discuss your feedback if possible, please could you email me at 7849@greeneking.co.uk to discuss further.

Kindest regards,
Benjamin Crompton
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luzborough House also viewed

Kings Worthy, Hampshire
Warsash, Hampshire
 
Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 

Been to Luzborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.