We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lawn House(Hatfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hatfield(Hatfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mills(Hatfield)
Booking.com
View Deal
Smart Rooms(Hatfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Holly Close(Hatfield)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
283
235
131
46
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
235
131
46
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive dealinclusive breakexecutive roomgreat weekendhouse wineeggs benedictsandwichesst albansweekend breakcrispsboth nightscouldn't do enoughcoffee machinebar menusoupfantastic valuebar area
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was old fashioned in the lobby etc but my room (superior) was actually very nice. A little bit of smell though. The bar restaurant was not good with an assortment they couldn’t really handle (standard Mercure menus) and with inexperienced staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank ErikO770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I booked a weekend at the Mercury at short notice as it was advertising a fully inclusive deal. I feel I had to write this review on our 2 day stay as it turned out to be the best little break I took this year. First of all after arriving we checked in to our rooms,the staff at reception explain everything we needed to know in great detail and was very helpfully in answering all questions asked of them. The hotel has recently been fully refurbished to a very high standard and you will find everything you need in the bedrooms and bathroom again I would say all the little extras are of a very good quality .
Everything works perfectly tv heaters ect layout of the rooms have everything u need and best of all the beds so comfortable for short visits.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and there is always a member of staff available on the spot to help you.
The menu choices for meals was very satisfactory well thought out and Beautiful presentation . The breakfast had a great choices with staff immediately replacing the hot eggs,bacon constantly when the trays had run out.
The lunch was very filling lovely home made soups to complement the sandwiches again ingredients all of a very high quality .
I was very impressed with all.
I would say it was the best value for money couple of days I have had this year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms so easy to walk to bar and dining room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraMcKeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mrs McKeon

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I have shared your kind comments with our team. Your feedback is such encouragement to all of our staff and as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Katherine Webster-Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for weekend break nice room recently redecorated good breakfast plenty of choices friendly staff ample parking close to galleria for shopping or university many other places we have stayed here before and good improvements from last time well done would recommended

Stayed: October 2017
Thank jjspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Our room was a good size and clean, although the bed was a bit uncomfortable. We ate at the restaurant on the first night, the food was very nice and we received a good service. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of food and drinks. There was some refurbishing work taking place during our stay but we were not disturbed by it in any way. Overall a pleasant stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards


Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The hotel is towards the end of a - clearly badly needed - refurbishment; something which might have been reflected in a substantial deduction in the normal room rate. And to be woken at 8 am by men hammering down the new carpet in the corridor was a bit much.

Another beef was that a simple phone call to Reception at 6pm to say that a bedside lamp had no bulb was never acted on. (a) Why did the chambermaid not spot this missing bulb when preparing the room? (b) Why was it impossible for anyone to come up with a replacement bulb. One would do it at home.

We were assigned a large room in the hotel - 217. Very comfortable bed. Nice shower. Two televisions - one of which did not, of course, work. Why do hotel managers allow this sort of very simple problem to go uncorrected?

There is no lift - and very complicated arrangements to get from Reception to the second floor - having to walk back and forth, opening and closing several fire doors. Must be a whizz if one is not able-bodied.

Free wifi; free parking. We had a good night's sleep. Front desk friendly, very welcoming and yet strangely inefficient. So a very plus and minus review.

Would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews