We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Booked a DBB deal with 4-poster bed for £129/night. Check in/check out very professional and friendly, as were all the staff throughout. Great to have the use of the leisure facilities which enabled us to chill somewhere other than the bar. Bar area was very comfortable and prices not too extortionate. Superb food and service in the dining room at dinner and very, very good breakfast. Large bedroom and bathroom. Mattress a trifle firm for us and I guess because of the age of the building there were a few creaks and could hear footsteps in room overhead and using staircase in night (but I am a very light sleeper and usually sleep with ear plugs which I didn't that night). Will definitely consider revisiting particularly as it looks as though you may be able to pay with Tesco Club Card vouchers. Visited Natural History Museum in Tring very close by and would definitely recommend if you're not bothered by lots of stuffed animals. Is clearly very popular with families (being free probably helps).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey-Fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
• Honey-Fudge – Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Delighted to read that dinner and breakfast met with your approval and that my colleagues were friendly and professional in taking care of you. It is also pleasing to read that you found your bedroom, the leisure facilities and public areas of the Hotel to be comfortable all contributing to a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thanks for you feedback – do visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    348
    243
    147
    58
See reviews for
224
430
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The staff were excellent but the hotel is tired and lacked personality .The room was reasonably comfortable and our room overlooked the car park ,which for us was a plus , however there was a lack of basic amenities , iron , trouser press and toiletries .We were there for 4 days over New Year and the breakfast room and restaurant rooms proved confusing , the housekeeping staff clearly stressed resulted in us requesting our room be left 2 days and our requesting it be done on the third . The food in the restaurant on our first night was dry and overcooked which led us to cancel a further nights meal and the New Years Eve meal could really only be ranked okay.The spa facilities were such that one visit was sufficient .Overall the experience was okay and not the wow we hoped for .

Room Tip: Our son stayed in a suite and was disappointed ,so maybe do not consider an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
gab58. Thank you very much for your feedback, which is invaluable in assessing how to further improve our Hotel. Whilst it is pleasing to read that you found the team to be excellent I am sorry that overall you found your stay to be only “reasonable”.
In so far as amenities are concerned, you are correct in saying the rooms are not equipped with in sitiu irons and ironing boards, these are however readily available and delivered to your room on request. Similarly should the quantity of toiletries in the room be insufficient for your needs, additional supplies are readily available and would also be delivered to your room on request.
I am not entirely clear what you mean in saying that you found the breakfast room/ restaurant confusing, or why you requested that your room not to be serviced for two days, certainly there was no operational reason why this should be from a housekeeping viewpoint. Clearly if you asked us not to service your room, my housekeepers would not have disturbed you.
I am particularly sorry that dinner on your first night was such a disappointment, I don’t know if you made this known to the restaurant manager at the time? Had you done so I would hope that he and Chef would have looked into your comments and made every effort to rectify the problem. Likewise it is disappointing that you found our New Year’s Eve dinner only “OK”. I would be grateful if you could expand on that so that we can understand specifically what it was that was disappointing. Would you please contact me personally at your convenience to discuss this as feedback from our New Year’s Eve guests has been very positive and I am anxious to learn of any issues so that they can be addressed for the benefit of future guests.
I look forward to speaking and hope to restore your confidence in our ability to deliver the “wow” you sought. In the meantime your review is much appreciated, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here over the Christmas 2011 period and thoroughly enjoyed it. Check in was smooth and the room allocated was clean and well maintained with a lovely four poster bed. The room overlooked the main car park, but there was no noise as the hotel was nowhere near full capacity.

The spa element of the hotel was not fully tested, however, we did make use of the swimming pool, sauna and hot tub.

All of the staff were very helpful and the Christmas themed evening meal and the full English breakfast went down very well indeed.

Overall, this was a pleasant getaway and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAE467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
TAE467 – Thanks for reviewing your visit. I am pleased to read that you found your bedroom to be clean and comfortable, and that you enjoined both dinner and breakfast. Thanks also for your comment regarding my colleagues.
I appreciate your recommendation and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We decided to take an impromptu break with our 4 year old daughter, she (being 4) wanted to go to the Zoo so we opted for Whipsnade as you can drive around. We found Pendley Manor on the Whipsnade Zoo website and called to book the tickets and one nights stay; this cost £115 for the 3 tickets, 1 nights accommodation and breakfast which we thought was very reasonable as tickets alone to the zoo would be £48. We had a fab time at the zoo and headed to the hotel, when we got there we were advised that the pool and spa facilities were 'out of use' at that time as there had been a problem that was being fixed, we wanted some lunch anyway so were not too fussed at this time and were assured they should be available to use soon. Lunch was lovely, well presented and very good food. By 5.30pm and after chasing a few times the pool was finally ready (we were getting slightly concerned as part of the reason we went to this hotel was for the spa facilities) but the staff were very helpful and did call us once we could use the pool which was really lovely, clean facilities and our daughter loved it. Dinner was superb, very nice setting, friendly staff and honestly some of the nicest food I have tried. We all had a good night sleep, there was some banging going on at 8am - some more maintenance work I suspect which was ok for us as we were up but I can imagine this would not have been acceptable to all guests at this time in the morning but it may well have been emergency work? Breakfast was buffet and was freshly cooked, great selection and again very friendly staff. Check out was not until midday which meant we got another swim in. All in all a great hotel, although a 4 star hotel and very beautiful it catered to 'families' also, it must have been the manager we saw wandering around a lot and he kindly gave our daughter some chocolate gifts. The added touches, attention to detail, great food and friendly staff means we would certainly visit again and are looking for that excuse already. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
JJB01. Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. Our “Whipsnade package” is very popular, I am glad that you found it to be good value and that you and your family enjoyed both the zoo and your stay with us.
I’m sorry there was a problem with the pool when you arrived and am pleased that we were able to resolve that so that our guests were able to use the facility safely without undue delay.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your meal experiences with us throughout your stay and of course that my colleagues were friendly and accommodating. I am sorry that your heard some “banging” – we would not normally start any noisy works until after 9am – nonetheless I’m glad you all had a good night’s sleep.
I hope your young daughter enjoyed her chocolate as much as she did the zoo and the pool.
Thanks for your kind comments – we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had our family Boxing Day lunch at Pendley Manor and were greased at the top of the long country drive by beautiful peacocks! Our food was exquisite and the chef was extremely kind and was happy to offer us and alternative starter to the set menu as some of our party were fussy eaters. Perfect sized portions and Presentation and taste really was first class. Staff also were exceptional, very friendly and helpful and would clearly bend over backwards to ensure we were satisfied with our experience there. The house itself wasn't as grand as I had expected although it was set in beautiful grounds together with an array of peacocks which are fascinating. We did not use the accommodation or spa (and as such have marked rooms as average but have no idea as to quality and i could not finish review without rating them) but would highly recommend dining there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sass58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Sass58 Thank you for taking the time to review your family luncheon on Boxing Day.
Your kind comments regarding the meal are much appreciated. I am pleased that Chef was able to accommodate your request for alternative starters, though for the benefit of future guests it is worth noting that he may not always be able to do so at short notice and would suggest that should there be any special request that it is arranged in advance so as to avoid any possible disappointment.
Thank you also for your recognition my colleagues, as you say it is their friendly and helpful approach that makes such a difference in delivering what I hope would be an enjoyable visit to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
22.3 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
19.1 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
14.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
33.4 km away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price range (per night): $117 - $281
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing