We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked at 2045 as only time available.
Service and staff were friendly and great.
Mussels were amazing as main course BUT unfortunately the rest of the meal was very average.
Scallops (were like from frozen) chewy rubbery and overcooked - salt and pepper squid were just like Aldi style frozen fried calamari rings! and again very rubbery.
Main of beef cheeks flatbread -again chewy beef on a huge mound of what best described as ‘batchelors’ gloopy savoury rice! Most was left uneaten.
Theme here with overcooked and chewy!!
Mussels saved the meal from total disappointment - plump succulent and tender juicy- Shame the other dishes were so average.
We are not food snobs at all but this is food I would expect from a ‘basic’ pub rather than a top restaurant.
Maybe it was just a bad ‘end of day food’ but really would expect that a restaurant should produce great food from the first service to the last.
As polite Brits of course we just accepted the low standard and said yes it’s all fine when asked! Nothing was awful- just very disappointing.
On our one experience We would certainly not go back for the food !

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank markiemarkmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great sunset view over the harbour. Friendly staff. Manager allowed 9 of us in last minute without booking - very much appreciated!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank connorgoodwin114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent food, very generous portions at a reasonable price.
4 of us had fish and chips, the batter was lovely and light not at all soggy the chips where slightly under cooked but didn’t take away from what was a delicious family meal out.
Service was spot on very pleasant staff and quick to get our meals and drinks out.
Fantastic views across the Solent, we will definitely be back in the near future!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank sallytt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

What a great find The Terrace is. We have been fortunate enough to have had both lunch and dinner here in the past week due to high winds keeping us in Yarmouth. It was lovely to see a different menu on each occasion and both times the staff were great - attentive and informed without rushing us. We knew we had a time slot in which to finish but managed to have three courses easily within the time allowed without any pressure. Both times the food was wonderful. Super mussels, lobster risotto, steak and scallops. Plus super desserts. This is a real unknown gem so maybe I shouldn’t shout about it too much as I’d like to be able to get in again! Really well worth a visit but leave a table for us….

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

We sat just inside the restaurant (eating on the terrace would be great depending on the weather of course) and the service was very attentive throughout - a good team! Menu was just right for selection and the quality of all dishes was very good.

Good value in my opinion and would certainly come back.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Mr_Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.