We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$111
Orbitz.comUS$111
TravelocityUS$111
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
48
52
26
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
52
26
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage restaurant stayed here double room toast car park decent size short stay return trip little gem cooked breakfast pub shower landlord shepherd canterbury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for a short stay as we are having work done to our house and what a find!
Nigel was very attentive from the moment we checked in. There was a very small issue with booking and so was given our evening meals FOC which I had to take a picture of below..
Breakfast is continental which is lovely, dinner was amazing, drinks were reasonable and the room was huge. Perfect location for day trips and evenings out. Be back soon!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrsrand85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel Spurr, Owner at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and happy you enjoyed the food. looking forward to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020

This place is a little gem. The service, The food, friendly staff along with good company, Makes this pub a worthy visit. Highly recommend, and we’ll be back! The food was amazing!! My friend is vegan and the chef really went above and beyond for her. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel Spurr, Owner at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2020

thank you for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit. hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2020

Under new management, the staff were friendly especially the fella who did the breakfast. Positives..fan and ironing board in room, fair size room and bathroom.

Negatives..shower was tiny, room in urgent need of a lick of paint, tv had no text service and hardly any freeview channels.

Room wasn't cleaned one day during a 3 day stay.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel Spurr, Owner at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2020

Hi Wayne, It was a pleasure to meet you.

As new tenants, we do intend to redecorate the rooms as quickly as we can, but it will take a short time and as for the TV reception we are trying to get a new system installed but as you can appreciate, unfortunately we couldn't get it completed by the date of your visit.

Due to the recent Covid situation we gave the customer a choice whether to have the room serviced through the stay. we appear to have not informed you of this, however as a result, and thank you for bringing it to my attention, I have placed notices in each room giving our valued customers the choice. despite this We hope you visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Booked for an overnight stay here as we were visiting the shepherd neame brewery tour!
Check in was nice and easy and staff member welcoming and great that they allowed us in the room a lot earlier than stated because of our tour !
The room was fine nothing special a decent size ,clean bedding ,comfy pillows and duvet!Walls bit grubby and could do with freshening up!bathroom was decent size shower worked fine, lovely large towels!!
No plug sockets near bed sides and lighting was dreadful the main light was more of a dim glow!!
Bed was ok too not the best mattress but was fine!!
Our room overlooked car park which was fine as away from main road etc !Had a decent nights sleep no noise from anywhere!!
Didn't have breakfast do can't say what it was like !!did have drink in the bar in the eve which was nice !!
All in all not a bad stay location is perfect for being in town !not a luxurious stay by any means but one that does the job !!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jems21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel Hatchard, Owner at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your points have been noted. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Nearly all reviews, which I had read before booking, all seem to be reviewing somewhere else!. Dingy, grubby, outdated, depressing, overpriced. But linen seemed to be clean, no dust and carpets, although dirty and worn appeared to have been vacuumed. Really cannot recommend, sorry.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank AberaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews