We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Delight”

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We sat outside overlooking the river Stour. As lovers of all things Caribbean, especially food we ordered beef patty, plantain, goat curry and jerk chicken, rice and peas. Totally delicious and authentic. Goat was bit hot for me, so i ate the jerk chicken. Plantain was the best i've had in the UK. The prices were very reasonable, good portions and deliciously homemade. Please come and open up in Sevenoaks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea191272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Hi Andrea, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal, You should persevere with the Goat it depends how heavy handed Pam gets with the scotch bonnet. we are intending to expand the menu soon , so if you pop over you may find something different, as for opening in Sevenoaks, you never know ;-)
Terry and Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Welcomed immediately, very friendly staff who helped with getting pram into premises. Lovely meal cooked by fantastic Caribbean chef, food was good value and large amount, not to mention very tasty (I have been to Caribbean many times so I can verify authenticity !) great place, have been back since and will return again.

Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you Katie. we are pleased you have enjoyed the whole experience enough to keep returning. A review like yours is always satisfying, and we look forward to your next visit
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We decided we would pop into the Crispin for lunch as the food looked so appetising from the pictures on trip.

It was mid week lunchtime, so the Inn was fairly quiet.

The service was good overall, but, you have to wait a little while for your food, which never bothered us.

The menu was good and it was difficult to choose what to have, but, being lunchtime, we decided nothing too bold.

Our food was tasty and spicy and we will be coming back for another visit one evening to sample the Caribbean offerings and perhaps an overnight stay in a nearby hotel

Thank you guys and we look forward to seeing you again soon

P.S. Never spotted Dale Winton

Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Hi Kevin thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your lunch . And look forward to seeing uou in the near future
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We went to Sandwich for the day and stumbled across the Crispin Inn by accident. When I read the board and saw 'Curried Goat' I was sold! We ordered Jerk Chicken, Curried Goat and Caribbean Curry for our party of 6. Everything was fresh cooked and delicious. If you are a fan of Caribbean cooking then get down to the Crispin Inn - you won't be disappointed!

Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hi Andy, thank you for your lovely comments,and taking the time to review us, we are pleased you stumbled in our direction,
hope you pop in again if ever you are in sandwich
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This old public house is close to a large car park and by the river where you can go for walks before or after eating.
We called in for lunch mid-week and were surprised to find it almost empty .... So no need to book.
The interior is rather shabby and in need of some tlc.
Staff seemed rather ambivalent about serving you, indeed one couple walked out after waiting about 10 minutes to have their order taken. Once our order was taken service was quite slow.
I ordered the Thai chicken baguette - the baguette was fine and the chicken succulent however, the caramelised onions were actually burnt and the spice so hot that you couldn't taste any flavours - but some people like it that way.
The beer was fine but again it took a long time to come after being ordered.
Bottom line is I wouldn't eat there again (there is another restaurant next door I'd like to try) and I can't recommend it.

2  Thank Voxsilens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for replying to my message. unfortunately your visit was three weeks prior to your message so quite difficult to follow up.
im not sure where you were seated, but we do have ongoing work tidying up the decoration and repairs.but i find shabby a bit harsh.
i have spoken to the chef who will have cooked your baguette and passed on your comment on the onions, which if you had brought to our attention at the time would have been resolved. The baguette itself is flagged up on the menu as hot. we would have a lot of unhappy regular diners if it was not hot.
Our life would be so much easier if people did book so we can make sure we have enough staff on when its busy. There is no rhythm or reason to how busy we will be
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing