We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bullet eggs And slow service”
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Tenterden
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Inspired by French cuisine and Parisienne bistro style. Café Rouge is your local bistro to enjoy delicious food and gorgeous glass of wine.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

My son and I went for breakfast, not particularly busy, took 15 mins for anyone to take our order and a further 25 mins for the very average food to arrive. Tough overcooked bacon, bullet poached eggs and stale toast. Shame because the setting is nice and the decor too. Won't be returning.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank X3952XDpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3 course meal for two, with a glass of prosecco each. We had the mushrooms on toast starter, followed by a burger and chips, and a creme brulée and ice cream dessert. We were both very happy with our choices.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting dirty place , went for afternoon tea the window ledge next to us was covered in dead flies and table legs and floor was filthy . Manager couldn’t understand why we wanted milk with our tea and was very rude about it when I asked for some. AVOID THIS PLACE !!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an afternoon tea here today, on arrival we were free to pick our table and we told the waitress after she reappeared that we had a voucher which gave us full tea, gin and tonic each or a mocktail, this caused chaos as they didn’t know about this voucher, finally after sorting that out our tea arrived which was just lovely, tasty croque monsieur, warm scones and very moist cakes (jam was 50p extra haha) really!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank angelafarrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We both had very good meals with no complaints. However service was slow and we could overheat a loud complaint and several questions about where food had got to.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank F6162GFchrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing