We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
184
214
103
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
214
103
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bacon beans air con the sofa bed self service late check breakfast was included convenient location buffet style yogurt a large car park plenty of free parking visiting the area overnight stop visiting family business trip tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Arrived; check-in was polite, efficient and welcoming. We had asked for a room overlooking the front (car-park) to avoid any noise from the Main Road - we got exactly what we asked for, the room was clean and comfortable. There was an issue with TV reception around BBC channels but that did not really detract from the quality of the stay. Went for a walk around Burnley to find an evening meal but decided to return to the hotel; we were not disappointed the food was of a good quality, served by the same polite staff who checked us in (please remember hospitality industry is not easy and these people work hard). Checked out, once again polite, efficient service. Would we use again if in the area, simple answer is yes!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words and hope the TV reception qaulity did not detract from your enjoyment

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here before but this time I had a room (218) where the door could be opened with a push!
The hotel is situated a good 20 minute walk from the town where there are plenty of restaurants to chose from.
The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and a great power shower. Unfortunately the television did not work but the wifi was excellent.
The breakfast is also very good, overall a good hotel which I would stay in again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, We are really pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Burnley, Kind Regards Louise Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Arrived (very) late Bank Holiday Monday night to find that my room had inadvertently cancelled which was annoying after a 6 hour drive. However the staff were quick at finding a room for me on the first floor which I was able to keep for the duration of my stay.

The room was comfortable, though the carpet by the bedside was heavily stained - I think a few too many cups of tea had been knocked over.

The food in restaurant was quite good and would appear to be cooked to order as there was a wait for meals to arrive. They also do 'specials' as well as you would struggle with the menu after a few nights. Breakfast was the usual continental or cooked options and was a help yourself affair.

The wifi in the hotel is good enough for work purposes and plenty of parking on site.

Only criticism is that there is only the restaurant on site and you would have to go into Burnley if you fancied anything different.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we appreciate all feedback we receive, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I do hope that you will choose Holiday Inn Express Burnley should you return to the area again, Kind Regards Louise Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends nearby. Access is good from the M65 & from other routes through the area. There is plenty of free parking some of which are disabled spaces close to the entrance of the hotel. All disabled access is very good.
We had something of a bad journey from Wilts up the M6 & other motorways, due to the usual roadworks, this took 9 hours so we were glad to be in our room. Check in/out was fast & friendly. The hotel felt fresh & modern, the room was comfortable, it was equipped with everything we needed (including air con), there was no noise from the close by motorway, unless you opened the windows!
All the staff we met we friendly & went out of their way to be helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
There is a good bar with a reasonable selection of beers, wines etc.
We had dinner in the bar (the great room) the food was excellent, the selection was not large but it covered most needs, it was nicely cooked & well presented, it was hot & the service was quick, prices were reasonable.
We liked staying at this hotel & recommend it, we believe its probably the best HIE we have ever stayed in. (we stay in many every year)
We will stay at this hotel again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the car park, views over the moors are lovely & there is less chance of motorway noise if you open the windows
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sidawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, We are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us, We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Burnley, Kind Regards Louise Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Booked into hotel due to working in the surrounding area
On arrival receptionist friendly. They also double up as bar staff

Parking
Lots of spaces available ⭐️

Room
Clean tidy en-suite bathroom also clean/tidy. Daily maid service ⭐️

Food/Drinks
Only ate evening meal ice in the restaurant. Menu choice not huge limited for vegetarian I Had steak and Ale pie, which was ok
Having had large breakfast I wasn't hungry in the evening which is why I only ate once in the evening on my 1st night stay

Breakfast ⭐️
Choice of mini continental- crossaints, cut fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit consisted of banana and apples
Hot buffet- bacon sausages beans scrambled eggs
Choices of bread and buns. Toast you make yourself, tea and coffee

Nearby
About half mile from hotel there is McDonald's and KFC restaurant called kenakes which does
Bannys Fish and Chips - can eat in the shop
Local off licence Nisa Premier

Burnley itself doesn't have a lot going for itself not a lot to do in the evening however less than 10mins away There is a golf course Townley GC
Played 9 holes twice in the after work Course is nice very generous fairways. Pro was helpful when I rang to play last minute

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank RhodesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, We are really pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Burnley, Kind Regards Louise Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews