We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger inedible.. very disappointed ”
Review of Dog and Partridge

Dog and Partridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A family run pub serving homemade Pub Classics, open from noon daily, serving food until 9pm Monday _ Saturday and 7.30 pm Sunday. Disabled facilities and a beer garden with parking available to the rear of the pub
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I really am not the type of person to complain usually, but I feel that I have to express how disappointed I am. I'd been looking forward to coming to the dog and partridge with my partner for a nice lunch as a friend had recommended it to us.. the place itself is set in a nice area and is cosy and warm inside and is nicely decorated, and the waiting staff were friendly enough. My partner and I both went for the burger.. we were both really hungry as we had come for a late lunch and hasn't eaten much during the day.. the food took over an hour to arrive at the table after ordering which we were quite confused about as it wasn't very busy at all. When we bit into the burger it was pouring with either water or oil - not just dripping a little but pouring as though it was coming out of the tap.. the liquid was all over the plate and the bun was so wet it was falling apart. We told the waitress about it and then another lady came out and she did apologise which I was grateful for, although she didn't accept what we were saying and tried to say that it was the tomato on the burger that was causing this, which was completely absurd considering the amount of water/oil which was pouring out of the middle of the burger. We weren't offered any money off the burger which I felt was unfair given that it was completely inedible in my eyes. It was offered that i could have something else to eat, but by this point my partner had finished his burger (he had the same problem but was too hungry not to eat his) and we just wanted to leave. We won't be coming back any time soon, as the service and food just weren't to a great standard, and we weren't really taken seriously when we reported the problem, which could help them avoid similar issues in the future.

2  Thank mazcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandp2016, Owner at Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello mazcc

Thankyou for your review.

After checking our cameras & till system, I can confirm that your order took 25 minutes to arrive, not an hour as your review states. We were also quite busy during this period, not quiet as you state. The tables in the room that you were sat in were reasonably empty, however the rest of the pub was full on this busy bank holiday.

When your partner brought your burger to our attention, we had already checked your table, and both of you had said that everything was good. When he had finished his burger, he brought your uneaten (nibbled) burger up to explain his/your contempt.

The bun from your burger WAS wet, it had actually sat in front of you for almost 15 minutes with juicy fresh beef tomato on it, along with the cooked burger, cheese & mayonnaise. I did try to explain this the best that I could, and I'm really glad that you were grateful for this.

Your partner did threaten the very young waitress that he would NOT be paying for this. I did offer to get you something else to eat, complimentary of course, but you chose to decline. I asked if the other burger was okay, as it had been eaten, (I was happy to also get you another meal) to which you explained that it was good.

After being informed by the waitress about you comment about NOT paying, I approached the till area to remove the burger from your bill as a goodwill gesture. Unfortunately you had paid and were leaving.....

Many apologies and best wishes for the future.

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Having been here several times in the past, and to their previous pub The Grapes at Croston I was very disappointed to find that it had gone down in my estimation. The service was extremely poor we waited 20 minutes for a drink and for someone to take our order, even though it wasn't busy. The food was poor quality my wife had Scampi and Chips, (an all time favourite of hers) the Scampi was over cooked and the chips were oven cooked, again over cooked. I had shoulder of Lamb and again over cooked, served with Mash and some sort of black pudding mixture that was frankly disgusting. I have in the past recommended this establishment but wont in future unless I hear it has returned to it's former standard, sorry to say I wont be returning any time soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank glenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandp2016, Owner at Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello

Thankyou for your review. Despite making contact privately, and trying to make amends, unfortunately we haven't been able to converse with you.

Best wishes all the same.

The D & P Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

A nice pub and restaurant serving very good food. We enjoyed a lovely meal mid week and we’ll looked after by the frienfpdly staff.
The menu is substantial and togethe4 with the daily specials gives plenty of choice.

1  Thank Lakesidesmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Fantastic pie, peppered steak, couldn't eat it all, so was boxed up for me to take home. Wonderful value. Friend had chicken balti which was equally as good.

Staff have a warm and friendly manner and are very obliging

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service and amazing food yet again , very comfy and warm on such a cold Sunday afternoon
Didn’t want to leave
Thankyou so much xxx

1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog and Partridge also viewed

Charnock Richard, Chorley
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
Chorley, Lancashire
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
 

Been to Dog and Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing