We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Skegness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Just got home from a really nice overnight stay at The Half Moon Hotel. It looks rather dated from the outside but it's so full of character inside. It's like a labyrinth inside. So many rooms a large bar area and lovely restaurant.
We had a double room which had plenty of space,tea and coffee in room a nice size bathroom with shower and all was lovely and clean. With lovely white soft towels and crisp clean bedding.
We had evening meal and breakfast and the food was GORGEOUS, cooked perfect and proper chips. Lol.
Lovely hosts and very friendly staff.
Now the faults errrr... toilet was slow to fill lol, oh and the bed had waterproof sheet on the mattress which is ok but so hot to sleep on.
Over all a very happy 9/10. One off for faults.
It a bit of a drive to Skeggy or Mablethorpe. Not much to do in area but still loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok ours was No 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

We went in for a meal, all of us enjoyed it so much. The food was lovely, chips need to cook slightly more but overall it was so nice. This hotel was very clean, the services was very quick. It was very quiet in this room only few people was there.
A good value for me for a simple bar meal.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We called in on our way home to Melton Mowbray (we had been to Sutton on Sea for the day) and everywhere was shut except for Jills Tea Room. We ordered tea for two and a piece of carrot cake each. Tea and cake and service were fine and the setting was lovely but the bill was £14.45!!! Scandalous price, no wonder she struggles to attract custom (she said business was slow). If the prices had been visible before hand we would have left and waited until we got home. Then, when on the way home, I realised she had short changed me by 50p!! Will not be going there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnhanson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We went to this resteraunt after paying our final farewell to a friend. 15 of us sat down at 13.00 for a pre booked lunch.The the first meal came to the table over an hour after the orders were placed and subsequent orders were brought to the table in ones and two's until the final guest received his meal at 14.50,one guest ordered a salad and canceled it since it took to long to produce it. All this was very distressing for the Widow who was expecting the rest of the day to go without any problems.The excuse was they were short of staff, but knowing this they should have brought in extra help, not a justifiable excuse in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last week. Everyone very friendly. Room was pleasantly furnished and clean. The food was lovely. We had hunters chicken and we were very impressed with the size and quality of the meal. Beer prices were quite reasonable.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank andyg9053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.2 km away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
57 reviews
8.7 km away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
400 reviews
16.2 km away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
72 reviews
17.3 km away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 25 in Skegness
328 reviews
19.4 km away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 25-28 West Street, Alford LN13 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: $162 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing