We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips ever tasted ”

JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips
Ranked #35 of 83 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Description: We pride ourselves in serving the finest traditional fish and chips, using the freshest ingredients, all local produce and sustainable fish sources, in a welcoming and clean environment. Established in 1930 - The oldest fish and chip shop serving the Knaresborough Community for over 80 years. Being under the current management since June 2011. JR'S , a family owned business, has managed to flourish, to build up a loyal customer base and to become one of the best fish & chip shops in Knaresborough and the surrounding area. The quality and welcoming facade is matched by the continued service of traditional fish and chips within, using the freshest ingredients, all local produce and sustainable fish sources, in a clean environment.
Restaurant details
Description: We pride ourselves in serving the finest traditional fish and chips, using the freshest ingredients, all local produce and sustainable fish sources, in a welcoming and clean environment. Established in 1930 - The oldest fish and chip shop serving the Knaresborough Community for over 80 years. Being under the current management since June 2011. JR'S , a family owned business, has managed to flourish, to build up a loyal customer base and to become one of the best fish & chip shops in Knaresborough and the surrounding area. The quality and welcoming facade is matched by the continued service of traditional fish and chips within, using the freshest ingredients, all local produce and sustainable fish sources, in a clean environment.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Wet visited during our holiday in Harrogate, we ordered fish bites and chips to find out this was actually a fish cut into four or five and battered freshly, chips were well done just as we like, we never had better fish and chips, we only wish we could get them in Northern Ireland!

1  Thank Falrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDAIL, General Manager at JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try our best to keep up our high standards and to keep our customers happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016

these used to be the best by far in the area , but the last couple of times I've been they haven't been up to there old standard :( I don't know if they have changed hands or use a different oil or something? but they seem a lot more greasier?and you can taste the grease in your mouth a lot more when before they weren't greasy at all and were perfect , the batter used to be really nice light and crispy but now its more soggy , now they're just average :-(

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank o0-Sunflower-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDAIL, Manager at JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Im sorry to hear that our food wasnt good to meet your expectations . The business has been in the same hands for the last 5 years and we always use the same beef dripping.
I do apologise for this rare incident you had experienced and kindly be assured that we will continue doing our best for serving the best fish&chips in the area.
Thank you&best regards
N Ilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Passed this many times on this occasion I decided to check it out quite glad I did, the fish and chips were spot on.

1  Thank casper a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDAIL, Manager at JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to have met your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Food always delicious. Good prices and friendly quick service. Highly recommended to friends and family.

Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDAIL, Manager at JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you very much! I am pleased you are enjoying our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

For many years now we have enjoyed the simple yet good value food from this easy to find chip shop!.

1  Thank GilesBodoano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDAIL, Owner at JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words and your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips also viewed

Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to JR's Yorkshire Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing