We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Royal Oak(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Smithy(Knaresborough)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teardrop Cottage(Knaresborough)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Homestead(Knaresborough)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkgate House(Knaresborough)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mitre Inn(Knaresborough)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Goldsborough Hall(Goldsborough)
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
391
78
17
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
78
17
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bargranolabaked plumsmarmaladecar parkmini barguest houseeggs benedicthome madefull englishbreakfast was excellentsitting roomlittle touchessmoked haddocklarge roomwide choiceboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Having been completely let down by another establishment in Harrogate we firmly believe that things happen for a reason as we arrived in Knaresborough with nowhere to stay and 5 and a half hours away from home, so we needed to find somewhere. We drove past Newton House and pulled in to the next side street to ring them to see if they had an available room for the.night. We were delighted when we got the only available room. It was a very big room and very clean and comfortable. The very squeaky floorboards were my only bugbear as they creaked with every step we took in our room. However, the breakfast was honestly the best breakfast I have ever had. Baked plums with cinnamon was an option we could help ourselves to in the morning. Heavenly! The girls that served us were very sweet and friendly and the owner did all her own cooking, which was quite something with a full hotel of guests. The information in the room made very interesting reading too. It was easy to see why she'd won '4 In A Bed' a couple of years ago. Knaresborough itself is quite charming and beautiful. The views from the castle were stunning overlooking the river and The Riverside. Mother Shiptons Well is well worth a visit and the Riverside Walk is a beautiful place to sit and have lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I nearly didn't book to go here mainly because of the comments about the unfriendly staff. I am glad I ignored such reviews. The b&b is wonderful and Denise the owner went out of her way to be friendly and helpful when we arrived. She strikes me as the sort of person who runs a tight ship and won't put up with any nonsense, which I feel is how a good hotelier should be and I really respect her for that. Denise clearly wants to provide an excellent experience for all of her guests to enjoy, this is apparent in all aspects of the place, a lot of care and effort has gone in to every detail.

We were asked to specify a breakfast time and she made it clear that we needed to stick to that time. The breakfast was outstanding and the menu had a lot of choice. The dining room is small and in order to provide such a delicious breakfast to every guest, in a timely manner, guests really do need to be on time, I am disappointed that this 'nothing but the best' attitude is seen as being rude.

The hotel is quirky and charming. The location is good it's near the train station and local amenities.The building itself is beautiful. It is immaculate in terms of cleanliness. The housekeeping staff and waitresses are very friendly and pleasant. If you want to have a great, top class experience and not just somewhere to sleep this is the b&b for you.

I will say we were right at the top and the stairs were steep, we're young and fit so it was fine but if you struggle with stairs/walking make sure you mention that when you book.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank stopbadservice84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I would have liked to give this B&B a better rating but was given such a frosty welcome I can't! The room was spacious, with a huge comfy bed and lovely linen, very clean with good toiletries, although the shower was very poor. The breakfast was excellent and really tasty.
We arrived about midday and we weren't bothered about our room being ready, we just wanted to drop our bags off. We were made to feel as if we were intruding and as if we were a massive inconvenience and how dare we turn up early! We then came back at the allotted time and our room still wasn't ready. Denise did suggest restaurants and places to go at this point, but it all felt a bit insincere. A shame really as it is a lovely B&B (although a tad on the pricey side). Not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Esty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Newton house is a beautiful 300 year old house which has kept a lot of original features and the furniture and decor is in keeping with the house.
You enter through a lovely little conservatory from the court yard with a selection of ferns growing in there and a big wicker basket with home grown apples in from their court yard tree you can grab one on the way past sweetest apple I've had in ages :)
The cottages ( we stayed in no11) at back used to be stables and are very quaint with a court yard for parking
Love all the little touches to this place very informal & friendly .
Nice touch with teddy bear which was put in our room my daughter loved him for the night
Wine & water & tea & coffee facilities inc different teas, peppermintta,coffee, hot chocolate,biscuits & shortbread & chocolate eclairs on the coffee table
Bottled newton house water
The alcoholic drinks on the dresser and in the fridge are payable & prices are in the information book in the room .
All soaps shower gels, towels ect supplied
Hair dryer
Iron & ironing board
Heater in room
Child's penguin hot water bottle
Wooden board games to play
Arm chairs
TV, radio & phone
Bed very comfy
Down pillows & duvet lovely & soft & nice quality
Denise the lady who owns & runs the place is lovely & friendly & calls everyone by their first time which is a nice touch .
Breakfast was a great selection served 8am-10am
We had cheese & tomato omelette
Home made musli
Toast with real butter
Homemade jams & marmalades which are all made by Denise and are delicious
Teas, coffees , fruit juices & peppermint tea I also loved the little touches of children's cutlery and a fimbles cup for our daughter.
The lounge area was lovely with comfy seating s large bay window and huge vase of lilies which smelt just lovely also has an honesty bar which you help yourself to and let them know what you have had . There was also baskets of lego and dinosaurs and cuddly toys in there for my daughter to play with. We only had to mention one thing and that was the bathroom door was very stiff but that was it .we stayed here as we were attending our daughters wedding at Allerton castle so was only 10 minutes away in a taxi and well worth a visit if you are sightseeing .We had a lovely stay & will definitely return here and recommend it to all.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susanhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed in room 1 and what a very pleasant surprise. Room 1 is big, very big, compared to the corporate cells one gets in a chain hotel. Very clean with a comfortable bed, a modern bathroom and some very nice homely touches. If there is a downside it is that a quite noisy main road is outside the bedroom window, but to have a town centre hotel with parking this is a small inconvenience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Colin5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews