We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
393
78
18
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
393
78
18
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bargranolabaked plumsmarmalademini barcar parkguest houseeggs benedicthome madebreakfast was excellentsitting roomlittle touchesboth morningslarge roomb and blovely placelittle gem
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The hotel is well located close to the town centre. The room was at the top of four flights of stairs and there was no lift. We were rudely advised that this wasn't a hotel, despite the massive gold lettering on the front of the building.

We weren't made to feel welcome, in fact as we were leaving, the owner completely ignored us twice.

Room Tip: Lower floor at the back - the noise from the street was horrendous (construction work at 07:20 on the Sunday morning).
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
11  Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Knaresborough is a place we know well and having stayed here under a previous owner, we were curious to see what had changed. Now having a dog in tow, we were also pleased to see that he was more than welcome.

Our room (10) faced onto the small courtyard car park and was a decent size, with a mezzanine desk area and large bathroom. The bed was very large and very comfortable. Decor was smart and well-kept - a post-stay questionnaire asks for any issues with the room and it's obvious comments are acted on. A treat was the reasonably priced honesty bar containing a range of local beers and wine in different bottle sizes. Free bottles of still and sparkling water were another nice touch.

Much mention has been made in previous reviews about the breakfasts and I can now say I understand why! The well-thought-out breakfast bar had a range of homemade goodies, including granola and muesli but the highlight was slow-roasted cinnamon plums. Produce is locally sourced from Nidderdale producers and carefully prepared - our cooked breakfasts, including eggs benedict, smoked haddock and full English (meat and veggie) were delicious! Listening to other guests and reading the various alternatives on the menu, it was clear that catering to, and accommodating for, a wide variety of dietary needs is a priority.

From phoning the owner Denise to book, to the warm welcome, to the cheery goodbye at checkout, the customer care was exemplary. Our comfort genuinely mattered to Denise and her team and we will definitely return. There's many a place could learn lessons from here on how to make your guests feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed at this wonderful B and B for two nights. We had a lovely welcome from Tina who showed us to our room. We were in number 2 which is a twin room, really large bedroom with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge with drinks in if you want them. There is also a long downstairs with a very quaint honesty bar! Our room was at the front of the building with a small but adequate en suite shower with sink and loo. Very comfortable twin beds. The wifi at the hotel was great, the breakfast was just the best ever! Wonderful stewed plums, home made granola, lovely coffee, fabulous local bacon and sausages! We actually didn't eat any lunch for two days!! There is a small car park at the rear of the building but cheap parking nearby if it is full. This place is just fantastic and I can't recommend it highly enough. Oh and if your Spanish, Tina speaks very impressive fluent Spanish! Great place and hope we have cause to go back there again.

Room Tip: Room two is right on the road but we were not kept awake by traffic noise. Lovely big room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Girlie weekend for myself and sister. Got a call night before stay from Denise the owner asking for a rough time of arrival so she could be around. We went by train and it is an easy short walk of 10 mins to the B&B.
Greeted by Denise who showed us around, explained the honesty bar in the lounge. We could see straightaway what a lovely property it was.
Our room was number 1 which is a superior room. The room was massive. Lovely twin beds with lovely bedding on them. Nicely decorated, huge wardrobes and even a mini bar which was actually a fridge with various drinks in. Denise explained if you use any just let them know when you check out. There was also tea including herbal ones, coffee a kettle and biscuits. A really good size TV, a Chaise Longe. Bathroom was also a good size with lovely massive shower.
Denise showed us on the map where the good eating places were and there are several pubs and restaurants a short walk away.
Denise asked what time we liked breakfast because the B&B was quite full and obviously she didn't want everyone down for breakfast at once. Breakfast was really good with cereals, fruits, homemade museli and a really good menu with muffins, full breakfast, smoked salmon and all sorts. All cooked fresh.
We both slept really well and not troubled by noise etc.
I cannot stress enough how wonderful this place is , we loved our stay and were wowed by it. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Having been completely let down by another establishment in Harrogate we firmly believe that things happen for a reason as we arrived in Knaresborough with nowhere to stay and 5 and a half hours away from home, so we needed to find somewhere. We drove past Newton House and pulled in to the next side street to ring them to see if they had an available room for the.night. We were delighted when we got the only available room. It was a very big room and very clean and comfortable. The very squeaky floorboards were my only bugbear as they creaked with every step we took in our room. However, the breakfast was honestly the best breakfast I have ever had. Baked plums with cinnamon was an option we could help ourselves to in the morning. Heavenly! The girls that served us were very sweet and friendly and the owner did all her own cooking, which was quite something with a full hotel of guests. The information in the room made very interesting reading too. It was easy to see why she'd won '4 In A Bed' a couple of years ago. Knaresborough itself is quite charming and beautiful. The views from the castle were stunning overlooking the river and The Riverside. Mother Shiptons Well is well worth a visit and the Riverside Walk is a beautiful place to sit and have lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews