We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Historic Charm”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I loved driving through the arched carriage way in the centre of Newton House to come 'home' each evening. Really enjoyed my spacious, clean, well decorated room with the modern en suite w/ great shower. Loved that still & sparkling water was provided daily, plus there was a small, stocked frig in the room. Loved the delicious breakfasts with nice choices. Traveling solo, it was also extremely nice to have newspapers on hand to take along into the breakfast room. I'll certainly stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise, choose room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

The hotel is well located close to the town centre. The room was at the top of four flights of stairs and there was no lift. We were rudely advised that this wasn't a hotel, despite the massive gold lettering on the front of the building.

We weren't made to feel welcome, in fact as we were leaving, the owner completely ignored us twice.

Room Tip: Lower floor at the back - the noise from the street was horrendous (construction work at 07:20 on th...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Knaresborough is a place we know well and having stayed here under a previous owner, we were curious to see what had changed. Now having a dog in tow, we were also pleased to see that he was more than welcome.

Our room (10) faced onto the small courtyard car park and was a decent size, with a mezzanine desk area and large bathroom. The bed was very large and very comfortable. Decor was smart and well-kept - a post-stay questionnaire asks for any issues with the room and it's obvious comments are acted on. A treat was the reasonably priced honesty bar containing a range of local beers and wine in different bottle sizes. Free bottles of still and sparkling water were another nice touch.

Much mention has been made in previous reviews about the breakfasts and I can now say I understand why! The well-thought-out breakfast bar had a range of homemade goodies, including granola and muesli but the highlight was slow-roasted cinnamon plums. Produce is locally sourced from Nidderdale producers and carefully prepared - our cooked breakfasts, including eggs benedict, smoked haddock and full English (meat and veggie) were delicious! Listening to other guests and reading the various alternatives on the menu, it was clear that catering to, and accommodating for, a wide variety of dietary needs is a priority.

From phoning the owner Denise to book, to the warm welcome, to the cheery goodbye at checkout, the customer care was exemplary. Our comfort genuinely mattered to Denise and her team and we will definitely return. There's many a place could learn lessons from here on how to make your guests feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed at this wonderful B and B for two nights. We had a lovely welcome from Tina who showed us to our room. We were in number 2 which is a twin room, really large bedroom with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge with drinks in if you want them. There is also a long downstairs with a very quaint honesty bar! Our room was at the front of the building with a small but adequate en suite shower with sink and loo. Very comfortable twin beds. The wifi at the hotel was great, the breakfast was just the best ever! Wonderful stewed plums, home made granola, lovely coffee, fabulous local bacon and sausages! We actually didn't eat any lunch for two days!! There is a small car park at the rear of the building but cheap parking nearby if it is full. This place is just fantastic and I can't recommend it highly enough. Oh and if your Spanish, Tina speaks very impressive fluent Spanish! Great place and hope we have cause to go back there again.

Room Tip: Room two is right on the road but we were not kept awake by traffic noise. Lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Girlie weekend for myself and sister. Got a call night before stay from Denise the owner asking for a rough time of arrival so she could be around. We went by train and it is an easy short walk of 10 mins to the B&B.
Greeted by Denise who showed us around, explained the honesty bar in the lounge. We could see straightaway what a lovely property it was.
Our room was number 1 which is a superior room. The room was massive. Lovely twin beds with lovely bedding on them. Nicely decorated, huge wardrobes and even a mini bar which was actually a fridge with various drinks in. Denise explained if you use any just let them know when you check out. There was also tea including herbal ones, coffee a kettle and biscuits. A really good size TV, a Chaise Longe. Bathroom was also a good size with lovely massive shower.
Denise showed us on the map where the good eating places were and there are several pubs and restaurants a short walk away.
Denise asked what time we liked breakfast because the B&B was quite full and obviously she didn't want everyone down for breakfast at once. Breakfast was really good with cereals, fruits, homemade museli and a really good menu with muffins, full breakfast, smoked salmon and all sorts. All cooked fresh.
We both slept really well and not troubled by noise etc.
I cannot stress enough how wonderful this place is , we loved our stay and were wowed by it. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knaresborough hotels
4.2 km away
The General Tarleton Inn
The General Tarleton Inn
#1 of 1 in Ferrensby
399 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#9 of 15 in Knaresborough
64 reviews
0.5 km away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
161 reviews
3.2 km away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $153 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing