We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Nearby Hotels
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
US$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clow Beck House(Darlington)
US$166
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$52
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockliffe Hall(Hurworth-on-Tees)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
388
306
100
45
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
306
100
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcomplimentary waterseparate buildingovernight stopfree wifileisure clubbar mealsmini barleisure centrecar parkreception staffan upgradequiet roomsteam roombuffet stylegood nights sleepnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights,when we arrived,we were allowed to check in early,which was good,our room (16)was very nice,ground floor,and everything worked,except we never did find out how you switched the main(big) light on!?
The staff were all very helpfull,and friendly.
We ate both nights in the bar,the four meals we had,were excellent,approx £12 each(guide)
Car parking and wi-fi (free)were both very good.
My only gripe over the four days,was getting served at the bar,our first night was just a joke,the restaurant was closed,so everybody was eating in the bar,they had two staff,one on the bar,and one waiting tables,I stood for 10 mins at the bar,waiting to be served,before getting our drinks,during our meal,we waited another 10 mins for our second drinks,if you went to the bar,you were told to sit down,and the waitress would serve us,at the end of our meal,another 15 mins wait for coffee,I don't blame the staff members,there just wasn't enough of them!
All in all,really nice stay,but not sure I would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Hotel itself is very nice, decor is eye catching. The room was a good size and clean, however the zircon did not work and the room was very hot poor nights sleep, NOT HAPPY. On check out informed the reception man, he said he would get it fixed however not much use to me as was checking out, no offer of compensation either......, secondly the TV was missing batteries from remote had to ask for them also.
The restaurant:- We had dinner not the greatest by a long way, The pate starter was very odd, it had very tired salad, pate and what i can only describe as a popadom broken up with some over done french bread toasted, the red onion jam was nothing more than red onions in sweet water, not jam as you would expect. Main course, was cooked correctly however over seasoned with pepper which was all that could be tasted, the onion rings were bland and greasy, oh and some more tired green stuff. The sweet potato chips were nice.
Breakfast was a buffet style and was fine. I must say overall I would look for another property to stay when next in the area or insist that these issues were put right or given another room. The room was 110, tooooo hot.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110, unless aircon is fixed
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnthonyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi axeltramp!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. I'm glad to know that you liked our hotel aesthetics, and spacious and clean rooms. I'm sorry to know though about the uncomfortable temperature in your room and disappointing dining experience.

We are committed to bring true hospitality to life, everyday. Your feedback will go directly to our maintenance and restaurant teams to ensure that steps will be taken to avoid these in the future.

Again, thanks for your comments, and we hope that we can win back your heart back and try us again.

Many thanks,

Gian M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I stayed here for a few days whilst visiting family. The room was exceptionally clean and had all the necessary amenities. The breakfast was outstanding but the best thing about the stay was the lovely friendly staff especially Caroline who made us feel so welcome and couldn't have been more helpful during our stay . Her husband was also lovely . What a difference exceptional staff make !!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnabF2140RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed for one night, Its a holiday inn so you know what to expect. This one did seem a little more luxurious that some though. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Nice food in the evening with surprisingly large portions. Help yourself breakfast with everything you could want and very tasty. Free parking. Good free Wifi. Good access to the A1, but then it is on the main roundabout, traffic does not intrude though.I would definatey stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and was pleased for the allocation of a comfortable bedroom and although overlooking the Scotch Corner Roundabout experienced very little traffic noise. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, in particular those employees in the restaurant. Breakfast was self service and was of a 'good' standard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews