We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
304
34
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
304
34
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george jackie town centre quiet cul de sac high standard breakfast was excellent excellent accommodation alnwick gardens fresh fruit a lovely stay two nights room was spotless comfy bed short drive local area feel very welcome cooked breakfast hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Holly Lodge. We were sent details of the code to the key pad before we arrived, which made check in really easy. Our keys and details were waiting for us in reception.
We had a delightful super king size bed in our room which was in the eaves, but it was spacious and the en suite wet room was super. The quality of the bedding, pillows and towels was of a high quality. (The pillows were so comfy that I had to look at the make of the pillows to try and buy some on the internet)
Breakfast was excellent, a good choice and as you had to reserve a time for your breakfast the previous day, the hot breakfast was on time and piping hot!
Holly Lodge is easy to find, off a quiet cul de sac in a residential area, yet close enough to the centre of Alnwick, a 10 minute walkaway. There is ample room for parking at Holly Lodge.
As this was our first visit to Northumberland, George and Jackie were so helpful with directions.
We loved the fact that there was a fridge in reception for us to keep our wine in, and there are wine glassses for you to use as well!!
Thank you for a lovely stay. x

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbylady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george swordy, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your excellent review . George and Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a second time 18th to 21st June 2021.
We had room 5 could not ask for more very clean and loads of room
Breakfast good choice and very gd
A special thanks to jakie it was my birthday Saturday and she soppised me with wine crakers and cheese and her home made pickle don't go home without one .would also like to thank George for his warm welcome. And the girls who always have a smile.SEE YOU SOON

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carlp681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george swordy, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your excellent review we hope you can return ! Pleasure to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021

We stayed at Holly Lodge for 3 nights. It is a modern property in the perfect position in Alnwick, has off street parking and was in a very quiet area. We had contactless check-in, our keys were left in reception and the door entry code was sent to me beforehand.

Our deluxe king room was on the first floor in the eaves, was bright, airy and modern. It was nicely furnished, had nice bedding and towels. There was a trouser press and fan in the wardrobe. There were 2 velux windows with blinds. We could not keep the windows open at night because they let the light in around the windows so we were hot, even with a fan on.

We had a lovely large bathroom with a powerful shower. There were no hooks for clothes, dressing gown etc so had to put things on the floor as too far from the toilet. The narrow shelf near the wash basin was too narrow for my toilet bag so that ended up on the floor too!

The dining room was pleasant and there was also a lounge.

We pre-ordered our cooked breakfast the day before, with several choices and we helped ourselves to cereals, fruit and yogurts which is unusual in these ‘Covid’ times. Breakfast was always delicious.

A great place to stay and I highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george swordy, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Many thanks for you review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

On the door hooks - we have 2 hooks usually in each bathroom for guests to hang their clothes on - in this case they were missing somehow although they were there when we started up business again a few weeks ago but they have been replaced and are in the bathroom for future guests .

Hope you can return again many thanks George , Jackie and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

The host's George & Jackie were really friendly and helpful with the local area on where to eat and visit via emails even before we even arrived.
On arrival we where impressed on how close to local town only minutes walk from all Pubs and restaurants but situated in a quiet cul-de-sac.
Jackie even offered to park my car (as i had failed on 3 attempts to park straight lol).
The accommodation was very modern and clean, the room was spotless with huge beds, soft towels, the showers were powerful.
We were also given access to a fridge to put our pop (wine and beer) into, great touch.
At the end of our hiking day Jackie made us hot sausage rolls with delicious pickle and our clothes where hung in the drying room (another great touch).
Jackie's cooking at breakfast was a banquet (luckily we could walk it off during day) - masses of choice from:- fresh fruit, cooked breakfast (as you request it and various choices), cereals, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice.
Overall our stay was made memorable not only by the beautiful coastline of Northumberland but also by our hosts Jackie and George. (especially during this Covid crisis and they obeyed all the rules laid down by the government). Thank you both. From Lianne & Derek.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george swordy, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Many thanks for your review. Much appreciated . Privilege to meet and have you both as our guests. Come back again.
George n Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Stayed oct with my partner
You would not find a better place to stay very warm wellcome.cannot do enough for u i got very wet on saturday and they went out of there way to dry cloths for me .the food was very nice so were the rooms .george was a very funny man and if u get a chance have some of jackies pickle and sasage rolls.would defo stay again . And thanks to all the other staff they have working there
Thanks from carl and helen

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank carlp681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george swordy, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Great to have you as our guests . Thank you so much for your Top Mark review . Hope you can come again next year and visit Holly Lodge.
All the best.
George n Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews