We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum”

Belford Hidden History Museum
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Belford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We may be the smallest museum in Northumberland but most visitors stay at least an hour and say they'll need to come back to see more! Run by volunteers who delight in the village's heritage and history, there are photographs, posters, artefacts,interactive screen, listening posts and much,much more. Open every day except Christmas Day, 10-4. Ample free parking nearby. Best of all free admission! A history of ordinary folk with extraordinary stories.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

What an interesting little museum. Great local history nicley laid out. We learnt a lot about Belford and the surrounding area.

Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue bell"
in 7 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 6 reviews
"photos"
in 6 reviews
"exhibits"
in 6 reviews
"material"
in 2 reviews
"ww1"
in 3 reviews
"suicide"
in 2 reviews
"context"
in 2 reviews
"info"
in 2 reviews
"donation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

A great local history museum, well set out with easy to understand info, properly described exhibits, and inter-active resources. I particularly liked the story of the abduction and suicide at the Blue Bell Hotel, the photos of the marching suffragists, and the model of the Bondager showing how she was dressed for her work in the fields. Some of the WW1 stories were intriguing too.

For a smallish village to produce something of this quality is extremely rare. Yes, it is local history but there is much of general interest and we spent well over an hour there without investigating everything on view.

And....it is FREE! asking only for donations.

If I have one criticism it's that it is so under marketed. We knew of Belford and, in fact, had been in touch with the local History Society some years previously but we didn't know anything about the museum and came only on it by chance while stopping off in the village on our way to Kelso one Saturday morning.

But Belford is a small community. I assume resources are thin, and so its people are to be congratulated for producing something of this quality. They deserve every support.

1  Thank bracketsbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie g, Manager at Belford Hidden History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for your positive comments. We have only been going for 4 years and have achieved a lot in this time.
You can find us on Belford museum on Facebook. Publicity is a problem due to the high costs involved as we are donations only. So we rely on the likes of yourselves giving us good reviews to their friends So thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We spent a happy hour here barely scratching the surface of its contents. This is a fascinating local resource, hugely detailed, full of personal histories, photos and artefacts.

Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie g, Public Relations Manager at Belford Hidden History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

So glad you enjoyed your visit. It is amazing how much our little village has to tell people! We have been exceptionally busy over 4 Heritage Open Days this year with new infor coming from some of our visitors. Thank you for taking time to write a review
and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

An interesting museum. Small and local, a nice way of spending half an hour or so. Something for adults rather than children to enjoy

Thank AllyTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie g, Public Relations Manager at Belford Hidden History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking trouble to submit a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Terrific little local museum, really fascinating. Well worth a visit if you're in the area and have an interest in local history. Recommended.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie g, Public Relations Manager at Belford Hidden History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

We try to tell the stories of ordinary folk. It,s amazing how many of them in Belford have done extraordinary things. Please come again! Thank you for writing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belford Hidden History Museum also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Belford Hidden History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing