We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly and home comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Lovely residence, warm and friendly hospitality. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Very homely and a good nights sleep had. Luxury and quality sleep.

Breakfast selection well thought out, giving you a taste of culture, i.e. haggis.
If you are a reader there are plenty of books to read within the establishment whether it is fiction or historical interest.
The location is quaint, quiet too, views of the quay and river.
I love old houses and I have to say The Walls did not disappoint with the fitting decor and age of the building.
The little archways and cobbled alleyways and roads locally.
We would definitely recommend the b&b and definitely return and recommend to others. Wish we could have stayed longer really as we haven't explored Northumberland before.
Thanks, Louise and Stephen for your hospitality we will hopefully be back.

Room Tip: Swan Room would be our recommendation, any room facing the river and quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at The Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for your kind remarks. We are so pleased that your introduction to Berwick and Northumberland was a positive one and we hope that your experience will prompt your to return to the 'secret kingdom' soon. Berwick is a great place to stay to learn about and appreciate the history of our great town and to explore the beauty of North Northumberland and the Scottish Borders. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

This has to be one of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in. Beautifully and tastefully decorated with every attention to detail being taken to ensure guests are as comfortable as possible. Stephen and Louise, the hosts were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was superb. A great experience from start to finish!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pumpkin2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at The Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review of your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are flattered by your comments. Please come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night earlier this month and can't recommend this place any higher. Friendly welcome and beautiful room. Guest lounge with honesty bar and just a very homely feel. Very nice breakfast with several choices and overall reasonably priced for its location and the service offered.
I'll definitely be back when I'm working ideally situated in town with beautiful views over the Tweed

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank MABM8374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at The Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us at The Walls and thank you for your kind remarks. We try hard to offer value for money for the service we provide and we are delighted that you think we have it right. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I have been walking down the Berwickshire coast and stayed a night in Berwick. This b&b is lovely. I received a really warm welcome in the delightful guest lounge. The owners are very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. I stayed in the Walls room at the front of the house which is well appointed and very comfortable - a cosy but gracious room with a good sitting area and great facilities including Sky TV. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was excellent. This was a lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at The Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for your recommendation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your walking holiday in the region. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is top of the range. Beautiful, spacius rooms with extremely comfortable beds, large bathrooms and lovely details like the coffee machine and the chocolates. And all with a wonderful view amd walks from the door without having to go on a road,

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johnhamwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at The Walls Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for finding the time to write a review of your stay at The Walls and thank you for your kind remarks. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
4.3 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
500 reviews
1.9 km away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
328 reviews
0.1 km away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#11 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
146 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
#16 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#5 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walls Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walls Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Quay Walls, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: $147 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walls Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walls is a beautiful and elegant period townhouse overlooking the Tweed Estuary, right on the Elizabethan Walls and in the tranquil heart of the old town of Berwick. Recently restored to its former Georgian splendour. The Walls offers luxurious comfort but with modern conveniences such as free Wi-Fi internet access and full Sky TV on large flat-screen TVs. We also have secure storage for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Walls Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing