We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sunny Yard on a damp afternoon!”
Review of Micah's Tea Rooms

Micah's Tea Rooms
Ranked #14 of 104 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Micah's is a family run Grade II listed tea room in the attractive market town of Morpeth in Northumberland. Meet with friends or family, inside or out in our (sometimes) sunny, dog friendly courtyard but above all have the memorable experience of great value food and drinks served to you as you want it by people who are friendly, attentive and bubbly! And watch out for the ever- changing specials... Just now it's tea and a scone before 11.30 for just £2.95 or tea and cake after 3 for just £3.95... See you soon.
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic lentil soup and bacon roll in the dog friendly sunny yard at the back of Micah's Tea Rooms. Friendly and welcoming staff and great food! Highly recommended!

Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Public Relations Manager at Micah's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Hi and thanks for visiting Micah's with your dog. Our four legged friends are very welcome in the courtyard - with a treat on hand!

Home made soup hit the spot too. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Came here for a little lunch and it was so lovely! The staff were incredibly nice and friendly, the place is beautifully decorated and the amount of choice for food is amazing! There was also a ton of veggie and gluten free options which I thought was really good as well.
I can't wait to go back and try all the different types of tea and hot chocolates!

Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Public Relations Manager at Micah's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

So pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We do have a wide variety of gluten free food and cakes. Not always on display but the staff are well informed on what is available - so please do ask.

Thanks for taking time to comment and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My daughter & I tried this tea room for lunch but ended up only having a pot of tea as the chicken sandwiches we ordered were not to our liking. Having said that, the tea room itself was lovely with quirky china and a wonderful old world charm. The staff were lovely and very helpful, they dealt with our sandwich problem quickly, politely and with professionalism.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmmbg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Public Relations Manager at Micah's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Hi and thank you for posting your review.

It's difficult to please everyone's tastes every time, so sorry that it wasn't to your liking on this occasion.
However, it seems the staff were more than able to help and we do hope that this won't prevent you from coming to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Called in at Micha's to grab something to eat on the way through Morpeth, we wanted something light as we were going beach walking and photographing. we were met with gracious courtesy and pleasant smiles and offered either out in the courtyard or a seat in the tearoom, we choose the tearoom, the decor is amazing full of we interesting discoveries as you look around, we both had poached eggs and toast with coffee, the coffee when it came looked like a small cup until the lovely lass said it is all made as ordered, it is a lovely blend of coffee and greedy me had another cup. The poached eggs arrived and I was pleasantly surprised that they were all spot on! Doing that number of eggs is not easy! I asked how they did it and was met with a laugh and told that’s how we always do it! It’s our secret! All in all a very pleasant experience and excellent food well served, all the food used is from the local area, and I will definitely be going back to Micha's when I am in the area!
I had a bit of Coffee and Walnut cake with my second cup of coffee and it was superb!!! They make it themselves!!
The menus on the chalk boards are extensive and quiet appealing, corned beef pie I fancy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarryNThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Public Relations Manager at Micah's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Well I hope your beach walk and photography went well. Why not post a pic on our facebook page!

Eggceptional secret! Glad they hit the mark for breakfast.

Safe trip home and do come back and see us again on your next visit.

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Lovely afternoon lunch at Micah's Tea Rooms.

We sat out in the sun in the yard garden area. Which is a collection of tables and chairs and planters and plants and ornaments and flags etc A bit kitch but nice.

Inside the cafe is a mixture comfy sofas and tables and chairs with two areas to eat.

Cakes and bakes all looked home made.

We both had lentil and ham soup, mine with a cheese scone. Daughters with a sandwich. Followed by carrot cake with cream and lemon drizzle cake with a tiny cup of cream. Very quaint.
Loved the none matching tea pot, cups, saucers etc.

The lady even gave me the end of the lemon drizzle cake in a tray with foil over to take home. Nice touch.

Will definately return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dreamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Public Relations Manager at Micah's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Hi and thanks for your review.

You hit well with the weather on your visit so it's really nice you could sit in the courtyard and enjoy lunch with us.
All our soups are home-made and why match a tea cup when you can be a bit quirky!

See you again we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Micah's Tea Rooms also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Micah's Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing